Menu Planning 102

Add vegetables into your diet. The truth is that we need healthy low carb vegetables. Those who say they don’t like vegetables have really never tried them. I know you all have heard me rant about how my husband doesn’t eat vegetables. On Sunday I snuck squash into his meal and he actually ate it. Now don’t think I am being mean. I admitted it after I put it on his plate. haha. He thought it was a potato. 🙂

When I made the pot roast I included yellow peppers, onions, squash, carrots and mushrooms. One crock pot and it was enough for the entire meal. I didn’t have to do anything else for the meal. It saved me time and money and I was able to get my much-needed vegetables for the day.

Before I was diagnosed with Diabetes I seldom ate vegetables. Now I love them and am constantly trying new recipes with my vegetables. My problem is controlling how many fresh vegetables that I buy because I found myself buying more than I could eat and they went bad. I am now very careful about how to include them into the meal without over buying.

Meal planning is one way to do that. Groceries are too expensive to just go wild and buy things that will go bad in the produce drawer in my fridge.

If you find that you are in need of adding vegetables to your diet here are a few tips.

  1. Make a relish tray and keep in the fridge at all times. I often take a container to work of various fresh vegetables and munch on them for a snack throughout the day. I keep some ranch dressing/dip on hand as well.
  2. Eat at least one salad a week. I can buy the artisan salad package at Krogers and that is enough salad for me to have 3 nice size salads for my lunch at work.
  3. If you don’t like vegetables try making new recipes that include vegetables into the ingredients and have a lot of spices and/or cheese. Almost anything tastes good with cheese on it. 🙂

A good healthy meal will include vegetables. It is a fact. By including low carb vegetables you will see an improvement in your skin, hair and stamina throughout the day. Your body requires these nutrients. Your children require them too. Set an example by eating your vegetables in front of them and they will develop a taste for them at an early age.

3 responses to “Menu Planning 102

  1. I grew up thinking vegetables had to be boiled to a soggy tasteless pulp; even with salt and butter I couldn’t stand most of them. Since I discovered roasting them, grilling them, braising them they have become among my favorite foods! Tossing chunky vegetables with olive oil and seasonings (everything from herbs to sea salt to parmesan – any or all!) and roasting at high temps turns them into almost-sweet treats with lots of texture, flavor, and even crunch. Braising in some olive oil and butter, lightly seasoned, and JUST until cooked through and no more, they are amazing! Vegetables are definitely not the necessary-but-worst part of supper one now, a token nod to healthy eating, they are a favorite part of almost all of our meals!

  2. I do love veggies! I plan on roasting a big tray of veggies tonight! 🙂

Leave a Reply

