Apparently I am High Maintenance!

This weekend I decided to take some time for myself and I came to the realization that I became high maintenance along the way and no one bothered to tell me. My daughter swears that she told me this but I don’t recall it.

While at work last week I was talking to my supervisor about fingernail polish and how I just can’t keep up with making my nails look nice. Hers are always perfect and I just don’t see how she manages it with her crazy work schedule. She clued me in that she gets her nails shellacked. I had never heard of it but was fascinated. I came home from work on Friday and called about 20 places before I found a place locally that did that. I love my new nails. She said that she can go about a month without the polish chipping off. I think it is definitely worth the $35.

Saturday morning I got up early as usual and went to the mall. I found a new store and was in love the second that I saw it. Have you ever heard of Charming Charlie? They have hundreds of handbags in every color imaginable and the most expensive handbag was only $39.99. I found this one. I love the color and the feel of the leather.

Mike said it looks like it has a happy smile on it. I guess in a way it does and it sure does make me smile. 🙂 Please don’t think it is huge. It is sitting in Caleb’s little recliner and not an adult size recliner.

I was talking to my friends over the weekend and asked them why they never told me that I had become high maintenance. Linda said we are middle high thrifty maintenance. We like the finer things but always manage to get them on sale. hahaha

Mary said she never told me because she would have had to admit that she was high maintenance too. haha Latasha said that she was just glad that I was surrounding myself with the things that make me happy.

I have to dress professionally for work and find that I really enjoy dressing up. There is something about your attitude when you know you are dressing for success. You have a sense of authority and come across that you really know what you are doing. Others also perceive you that way as well. 

That makes me wonder why so many people are now wearing their pajamas in public. Every time I go to the grocery store I always see someone in their pajamas in Krogers or Walmart. Why is that? I don’t recall ever seeing people in the stores like that when I was growing up. When did this become acceptable?

Is this all a sign that I am getting old and not actually high maintenance at all? Does the fact that I have several dozen pair of shoes just mean that I am a normal woman? The fact that I have enough Bare Escentuals eye shadow that I actually can make a color palette for many different looks doesn’t mean a thing right? 🙂

If you all decide that I am just getting old does that mean that I get to join the Red Hat Society early? I can’t wait to join their group. Don’t they look like they are having a great time when you see them in restaurants? I have never had a type of head where I could get away with wearing a hat but I think once I join their group I can wear one with pride and it just won’t matter. Of course I will make sure that my lipstick matches. We can’t have two shades of red clashing against each other. 🙂

This is all so exciting. What kind of shoes would I need to buy to wear with my red hat? Hmmm I apparently need to go shopping again. Is there a special store that sells the red hats with the purple ribbon? I didn’t see them in Charming Charlies. I did see hats though. I am considering going back to get a hat so that I can train myself for wearing my red hat in the near future. Should we all start a trend of wearing hats this fall? I think I might need to get one. 🙂

6 responses to “Apparently I am High Maintenance!

  1. LOL! I was trying to figure out all the texts about you being high maintenance. To me, this does not mean you are high maintenance. It’s more in how you treat people and talk to them, and I *know* you are a doll and don’t mind a bit of dirt.

    • That is so true. I don’t mind hiking and having fun but I don’t like getting my hair messy or wet. hahaha does that count. I love you and can’t wait for us to get together in 2 weeks. ahhhhhhh

  2. Thanks for featuring Charming Charlie in your blog!! We have added your blog to our blog mentions page on our website. It’s a page we created exclusively for showcasing Charming Charlie blog mentions!
    http://www.charmingcharlie.com/blog-mentions

    • aweeeeeeeeeee I love your store. I told everyone about it all day today and kept showing them my purse. I can’t wait to go back again. 🙂

  3. What I want to know is, how come I have 20 pairs of shoes but seem to go for the same ones day after day! LOL! I am high maintence and I blame it on my husband! I was never spoiled while growing up and he has taken it upon himself to show me a different way! I say “Go for it baby – but don’t be upset at what you create!!” I am blesses to have such a wonderful husband – Very.

    Love the bag!

Leave a Reply

