So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT!! I even have Caleb drinking this now. It is only 1 carb per cup and it is so refreshing. You can pour it over berries with a little bit of splenda and use it to make ice cream. I buy it in the same refrigerator section at Krogers where they sell the Silk beverage. If you haven’t tried it yet you should give it a try.

Jillian Michaels from the Biggest Loser is a sponsor of this beverage and highly recommends it for its nutritional value. I can’t wait to try to make low carb yogurt with it. I am not sure how to do it yet but I know it can be done. I will keep you informed. 🙂

10 responses to “So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk

  1. I will try adding some to my next batch of yogurt if I can find it! I’ve been getting the Silk brand – which Leelan loves by the way! – and have been using it in my coffee as well as in pudding (don’t tell Pete, he thinks he doesn’t like coconut – lol!). But this looks better :).

  2. Ooh, I really like So Delicious coconut milk. I tried the Silk brand, but it tastes overly coconutty, so it doesn’t work in cereal and such. I’ve been using So Delicious to make the tastiest low-carb smoothies. Ooh, I can’t wait to hear how it works in your yogurt.

  3. The biggest thing is making sure everything you use is squeaky clean so you don’t grow the wrong “bugs”.
    I pour boiling water into my 2 gal thermos and put the lid on, then set it aside.
    In a dutch oven I bring my “milk” (typically about a gallon of half’n’half and a half-gallon of heavy cream) almost to a boil but not quite, stirring constantly; you heat it over medium until there are little bubbles around the edges, and it starts to steam. If it scalds at all it won’t culture (you can either make a vat of soup or throw it away if it scalds), so you can’t really do it more quickly over high heat…but it goes a little faster if you bring it to room temp first.
    Remove the “milk” from the heat and let cool just until a skin forms on the top. Remove that, then in a small bowl temper about 1/4-1/2 (I don’t measure) plain yogurt with a little of the warm milk, then stir it all into the pot.
    Pour the extremely hot water out of the thermos, immediately add the milk mixture back into it, cap it tightly, and set it on top of the fridge for at least 24 hours. Doing it before bed, then opening it the 2nd morning after that gives a really thick, not-sour yogurt.
    It’s very easy, the most tedious part is the stirring.
    (Just as a side note: before I start this I put some baking soda and some vinegar into my kitchen drain; it bubbles while I work, and then after I pour the water out of the thermos the drain and pipes are fresh and clean! Just sayin’…)
    You can flavor it in your dish with just about anything, sweeten it, or whatever when you serve it. My favorite way to eat it is with a drop of liquid sucralose, a splash of vanilla, and a generous sprinkle of cinnamon.
    Once you taste your own yogurt, store-bought will always taste like a cheap imitation!

    • Thank you so much. I believe that I can follow your recipe but of course I have a couple of questions. I have never seen a 2 gallon thermos. I will have to look for that. How long does it last in your refrigerator? Do you know how many carbs are in it?

  4. I’m guessing at the size of the thermos…it’s a big one that you’d put lemonade in for a picnic. I used to have a gallon size, and I’d make half as much yogurt, then I loaned it out and never got it back; the one I have now I found at a thrift store and it will make twice as much, so I was guessing 2 gallons?

    I have kept it for about a week but I also use it in my bread recipe, in (or as!) sauces, make cream cheese out of some of it, and we love it so much it doesn’t last long; I’m sure it would last much longer than a week though.

    No idea as to the carb count. I know that the majority of the carbs are consumed during the culturing but depending who you ask the count would be anyway from 2g/cup (for full cream yogurt) to 8g/cup (for whole milk yogurt). The longer it cultures the more sugars are consumed, which is another reason I like to leave it for about 36 hours instead of just the 24.

    • Oh Oh Oh… How do you make homemade cream cheese? I use a ton of that stuff. Do you want to move in with me and my neurotic hounds? 🙂

  5. Only if I can bring my neurotic lap dogs :).

    To make cream cheese I scoop a bunch of yogurt into a colander lined with a coffee filter and let it drain overnight over a bowl on the counter. Most people add a little salt to it but I prefer plain, or just a little chopped dill or onion powder mixed in. Stores in the fridge very nicely but I don’t know for how long, it’s usually gone in a few days. (It doesn’t taste like Philadelphia, but I like it much better.)

  6. Laura Dolson has a great article today on carbs in yogurt, makes 3 good points :).
    http://lowcarbdiets.about.com/od/whattoeat/a/yogurtcarbs.htm?nl=1 if you want to read it!

Leave a Reply

