Vietnamese Grilled Steak Wraps

I have to give a disclaimer here. I LOVED this recipe. Mike HATED it. I think this is one of those recipes where there isn’t a middle ground. I have to say that I tried the meat by itself and it was overly strong by itself. Once I put it on the wrap with the baby spinach, fresh mint and fresh cilantro along with the wonderful dressing I was hooked. I had never made anything using fresh mint before and especially with it being a meat recipe and I can’t wait to try it with other meat recipes.

Mike only tried the meat by itself. He doesn’t care for the wraps and he of course would never try it with the baby spinach, mint or cilantro. He is a country man and only likes meat and potatoes. I will definitely be making this again for myself. Perhaps for work.

Vietnamese Grilled Steak Wraps

  • 2 large ribeye steaks cut into bite size pieces (about 1 1/2 pounds total)
  • Grated peel and juice of 2 lemons
  • 6 Tablespoons Splenda, divided
  • 2 Tablespoons dark sesame oil
  • 1/2 teaspoons salt, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 4 flatout wraps
  • 3 cups fresh baby spinach
  • 1/3 cup lightly packed fresh mint leaves
  • 1/3 cup lightly packed fresh cilantro leaves

Combine lemon peel, juice, 2 Tablespoons splenda, sesame oil, 1 teaspoon salt and black pepper in a medium bowl. Add beef and toss to coat. Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Combine water, vinegar, remaining 4 Tablespoon Splenda and 1/4 teaspoon salt in small saucepan and bring to a boil. Boil 5 minutes without stirring until syrupy. Stir in crush ref pepper; set aside to cool.

Remove beef from marinade and discard marinade. Using non-stick foil grill beef over hot coals and until cooked thoroughly. Grill flatouts until hot. Place baby spinach, beef, mint and cilantro on flatout. Drizzle with vinegar mixture. Roll flatouts to close and enjoy. Makes 4.

Nutritional Information: 383 Calories, Carbohydrates- 17.8 Carbs (fiber- 9.5, Sugar- 1.1 grams)

Net carbs per serving- 7.3 carbs per wrap

One response to “Vietnamese Grilled Steak Wraps

  1. So what you’re saying is it’s a bit like marmite 😀 I think it looks amazing. I think Mike needs to open his food eating mind 😛 I’d devour this every day.

Leave a Reply

