Butter Pecan Ice Cream

This recipe was very good. I found the original recipe on this site.

Maria’s Butter Pecan Ice Cream

I didn’t have the Chicory Root so I substituted Splenda and I loved it. I have never used the Chicory Root and you might like it but I have never even seen it in a store here in WV. I knew that I liked other ice cream recipes using Splenda so I tried it with this one and I loved it.  She also used Stevia Glycerite and I used Truvia. I have read that they are similar.  Anyway, the end result was wonderful I will definitely be making this again.

As you know I love to save money on groceries and was very pleased to find that Aldi’s carries unsweetened Almond Milk. They only carry heavy whipping cream in the fall and winter and I was very happy to find that they once again have it in the cooler section inspiring me to want to make ice cream again. 🙂

Butter Pecan Ice Cream

  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil or butter (I used butter)
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 1 Cup Splenda
  • 1 packet Truvia
  • 1 Cup Heavy Whipping Cream
  • 1 Cup Unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt

In a small skillet over medium heat, saute pecans in coconut oil or butter until lightly browned, stirring frequently. Set aside.

In a medium saucepan place the egg yolks and sweeteners in to mix on high with a hand mixer. Whip yolks until light in color and double in size. Stir in the whipping cream. Place the saucepan onto medium heat on the stove and cook, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and stir in the almond milk and salt. let cool completely. (I kept in the refrigerator overnight as Maria had suggested.)

Place into your ice cream machine and watch carefully. Each machine is different and some work quicker than others. My ice cream was set enough to add the pecans after about 15 minutes. At 20 minutes I was able to scoop it in containers. Makes 5 servings.

Nutritional information: 137 calories, 1.3 carbohydrates

Leave a Reply

