Caleb’s Kitchen

A few weeks ago I went to a fundraiser for the Alzheimer’s Association and bought this cabinet. The nursing home was having a community yard sale and I kept walking past this cabinet thinking that they would be asking about $50 for it since it costs $79 at Lowes. After a few hours I finally asked how much they wanted for it and when they said $15 I said, “Sold!” They even put it in my car for me.

You should have seen the look on Mike’s face when I had him carry it into the house and told him it would be a kitchen for Caleb to play with. I had Mike cut the bottom off to make it shorter for Caleb’s height. Then he cut a piece of plywood and put it on the top. I painted it black like my stove and refrigerator and then painted coils on the top to look like a stove.

Glidden paint sells these little bottle of tester paints and the lid has a brush attached to it. It was the perfect color for the coils.

I tried to use the brush on the lid but it was too awkward and I had to bring out some of my brushes from my tolepainting days.

This is the finished product in his room.

In the top drawer I put a small frying pan and utensils that I had picked up at Goodwill for him. The plastic brown plates and bowls came from Goodwill too. I tried to find some little toy plates for him at Toys R Us but they were all pink and a little boy doesn’t really want to use pink plates. 🙂

The bottom part is his refrigerator. Mike added a little wire shelf on the door to hold his little bottles of pop and cartons of play milk and juice.

In the bottom I put a plastic container full of play food that we bought him at Toys R Us several weeks ago. He has been playing with each weekend and loves to pretend to cook.

He was in love with this last Saturday when we surprised him with it. 

5 responses to “Caleb’s Kitchen

  1. Awesome to see more greatness from the kitchen!
    Very creative on your part, too!

  2. How cute and creative that is!!!

  3. That is so cute! You are such a good grandma!

  4. Very clever! Hats off to your creativity! And you guys did a great job, what a fun place for Caleb to play! 🙂

  5. That is such a wonderful idea. It looks awsome!

Leave a Reply

