Basque Chicken With Peppers

I thought this would be chicken with a sauce on it but it ended up being a very good soup instead. Stephen happened to come by just as it was ready so he tasted it too and loved it. I hope that you do as well.

Without Cheese

With Parmesan Cheese

Basque Chicken with Peppers Soup

  • 3 pounds chicken tenders, frozen
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, seeded and cut into strips
  • 1 medium yellow bell pepper, seeded and cut into strips
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, seeded and cut into strips
  • 8 ounces baby bella mushrooms sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup chardonnay
  • 1 can (14–ounce) stewed tomatoes, undrained
  • 3 ounces tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 teaspoon marjoram
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black peppers
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 cup chopped ham
  • parmesan cheese

In a slow cooker add all ingredients except the parmesan cheese. Cook on low for 7 hours. Serve to bowls and add parmesan cheese to top. Serves 6-8.

Nutritional Information: 338 calories, Carbohydrates- 14.5 grams (fiber- 2.2 grams, sugars- 2.8 grams)

Net Carbs- 9.5 carbs

I am linking this recipe to another blog to share this recipe.

3 responses to “Basque Chicken With Peppers

  1. Grace! I have to tell ya, I am just so impressed with your blog and your recipes. I just shared your website with all my friends over at The Country Cook. I have SO many folks ask me about diabetic friendly recipes and my own Mom was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes this year so she is always on the lookout for good recipes.
    I’m so glad to see a blog like yours. Keep up the great recipes and stories. It really is inpirational!

    • Thank you so much. I came home from work to find so many new friends had subscribed to the blog and thanks to you. I truly appreciate it. I can’t wait to explore your blog and check out your recipes. It is always wonderful to find other cooking enthusiasts. Thank you again for your kind words.

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this one today!!! Such a great recipe!!

Leave a Reply

