Bacon Cheeseburger Cauliflower Pie

I really enjoyed this one. I made it in a long pan and didn’t put cauliflower on one end for Mike and he liked it too. Some of the cauliflower accidentally fell onto his side but rest assured he carefully flicked them back out. haha

This picture isn’t very pretty. Don’t judge the taste by the picture please. 🙂

Bacon Cheeseburger Cauliflower Pie

  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs (Krogers brand is lower in carbs than Progresso)
  • 1 medium onion- chopped
  • 1/2 cup low carb ketchup
  • 2 teaspoons yellow mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cans green beans, drained (I used a quart that I had canned)
  • 2 cups cauliflower
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2 cups cheddar cheese
  • 5 sliced bacon, cooked and crumbled

Heat oven to 375 degrees. In Medium bowl mix ground beef, bread crumbs, onion, ketchup, mustard and salt. Press mixture in the bottom of a 9 X 13 pan. Bake for 15 minutes. Drain grease from pan.

In medium saucepan place cauliflower and add enough water to slightly cover and cook until very soft. Drain water from cauliflower and add butter.  Using a hand mixer mash the cauliflower. (If the cauliflower isn’t soft enough it will chop like rice but if you have it cooked enough it will resemble mashed potatoes. Either will be fine for this recipe.)

Place the green beans on top of beef mixture and then place cauliflower on top of that. Top with all but half a cup of the cheese. Return to oven and bake for 15 minutes more. Remove from oven and top with cooked bacon and remaining cheese. Return to oven and make 5 minutes more.

Allow recipe to sit for 10 minutes before serving. This recipe serves 8.

I froze a serving and then took to work for my lunch later in the week and it passes the freezer/reheat test too. 🙂

Nutritional Information: 543.6 calories, Carbs- 10.1 grams (Fiber- 1.9 grams, Sugars- 2.6 grams)

Net Carbs- 5.6

4 responses to “Bacon Cheeseburger Cauliflower Pie

  1. My son-in-law has had diabetes for the past ten years and has struggled with his diet continually. He is a meat and potato man and there are very few vegetables that he really likes. I have tried without success to make healthy dishes for him. I took this recipe with me when I visited them for Thanksgiving and made this. He absolutely raved about it and naturally, ate more than one serving, but at least I was successful at getting him to eat something that he thought he wouldn’t like. This recipe is definitely a keeper for all of us. As a diabetic, myself, I truly feel guilty eating it! Yum…Yum.

    • I am so glad that you all enjoyed it. It was one of my favorites as well. Sometimes it takes stepping outside of the box and trying new things. I hope your son-in-law finds more things that he enjoys that are healthy. I know if my husband became a Diabetic he wouldn’t take it well. He NEVER eats vegetables. I am glad that you went the extra step for your family. 🙂

  2. Just found you blog via Pinterest. Just started low carbing for the 2nd time, and this time around is so much easier with the internet and other flours etc out there. This hit the spot, so good. I am looking forward to trying some of your other recipes. Keep up the good work.

    • Welcome to the blog. I agree with you about it much easier now than in previous years. There are so many wonderful new recipes available that I just don’t have enough time to make them all. 🙂 Good luck.

Leave a Reply

