If You Knit It They Will Come!

I began knitting a baby blanket about 3 months ago and even though technically it shouldn’t take this long to knit it,  I would go weeks at a time without touching it. Then about 2 weeks ago I picked it back up and began knitting furiously on this baby blanket again. I had women at work ask me what I was knitting it for. I told them for my future grandchild. They asked who was pregnant and when I said, “No one but if you knit it they will come” they thought I was insane.

Last Wednesday was my birthday and my daughter, Samantha and her husband Ben called me at work to sing happy birthday to me and the song went like this.

Happy Birthday to you. Happy Birthday to you. Happy Birthday dear GRANDMA! Happy Birthday to you.

Did you catch it? Yep! Samantha is FINALLY giving me a grandchild. I guess I can put her back in the will now. hahaha

She of course told me that I couldn’t tell anyone. How cruel was that? I have my entire life on display for everyone to see and she tells me that I can’t tell. I told her of course I would be telling everyone at work (of course I did within 5 minutes of hanging up the phone) but I refrained from posting it here and on Facebook.

Speaking of Facebook. She requests that if you have befriended her on Facebook please do not mention it on there because there are still people that she hasn’t told yet.  I think she has known for a week and needs to get busy telling people. This is on the web now and it is only a matter of time before I have Nancy Grace announce it on the evening news. hahaha

I hope that I can get that blanket knitted within the next week. I have been collecting tons of baby patterns to knit for YEARS. Yes I said, YEARS. She told me when she got married that she wouldn’t have a baby for 5 years and I doubted that I would have to actually wait the 5 years but she did make me wait. I hope she gives me twins. 🙂 No pressure of course but twins would be twice as nice. 🙂

3 responses to “If You Knit It They Will Come!

  1. Congratulations Grandma! I love being a Grandma. . .nothing like it at all. I have 2 grandsons and 1 granddaughter and they are the light of my life. . .just as yours will be.

    Lori

  2. Awww….congratulations!

  3. YAY!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

