DIY Boot Rest

A few weeks ago I saw a boot rest on Pinterest that I fell in love with.

I knew with Mike working construction that this would be so helpful at keeping my floors clean.  This morning my frustrations got the better of me and I made a quick trip to Lowes and bought the necessary items to make my own DIY boot rest to end this kind of mess on my floors.

First I bought this utility tray for less than $5.

When I stand in it I can easily get 3 pair of shoes in it. See!

Next item to add to the tray were river pebbles that were less than $4 a bag and it took half of a bag.

I added them to the bottom of the tray and it looked like this.

With Mike’s big boots in the tray it will only hold 2 pair. See the horrible mud he has on his work boots? This tray will get a lot of use.

We used the remaining pebbles outside around a post that was in desperate need of character. I really do like the way this looks. I will probably go back and get more for different areas outside.

The picture of mine would have been prettier with shiny clean boots in it but this is the reality of living with a contractor. He is currently laying block and beginning the foundation of a house and his boots will be like this for the next 3 months.

At least God is providing an income for us and we have food on the table. I can put up with a little bit of mud. At least with this new boot rest it will be a little easier. 🙂

3 responses to “DIY Boot Rest

  1. Your boot rest looks really nice. You will wonder why you didn’t do it sooner. I love the look of them (minus dirty boots. . lol).

    Lori S.

  2. I’ve never seen anything like this, how clever! I think I will have one soon too! With winter coming, dirty snowy salty boots sitting on a dirty throw rug are the norm around here…but not this year! 🙂 So clever, and I like your utility tray better too, with its shape adds a little personality :).

    • Thank you. I just had to make one. It is amazing how quickly we both automatically come in and put our wet shoes on it. I can already see a huge difference in the dirt on the floor.

Leave a Reply

