Meal Suggestion #1

Is everyone ready to get healthier in 2012? Lets do this together. When I was losing weight I did not allow myself to have more than 20 carbs per meal and 50 per day.

I suggest starting a journal and documenting what you eat and what your glucose levels are 2 hours from the time that you began eating your meal.  Each morning I would weigh myself and document if I had lost any weight.  I did not put in my journal how much I weighed.  I just added how much I had lost as of that day. By keeping this journal I was able to tell which foods spiked my glucose, caused fluid retention (Buffalo Wings) and which ones prevented me from losing weight.

Portion control is just as important as carbs. While I didn’t necessarily count calories I did have to limit my portions. Just because meat doesn’t have carbs doesn’t mean that you can eat an entire hen in one sitting. You still have to burn more calories than you are putting in to burn fat.  Therefore, portion size depends on how active of a lifestyle you have. Only you can decide this. The journal will help you figure it out.

So here we go for meal suggestion #1.

Total net carbs- 12.5

4 responses to “Meal Suggestion #1

  1. Me like your 12.5 carb meal suggestion!

    20 carbs per meal, not more than 50 per day. Sounds like a good guideline. I think a lot of my problem was trying to go as low as possible…under 20 per day – talk about setting myself up for failure! Actually, I needed to do that when first diagnosed with diabetes, to get things under control. Things are different now (my body can tolerate carbs way better – no swings in bg IF I keep my portions under control & don’t go cuckoo w/what I’m choosing). I would be a wise woman to take advantage by making better choices in this coming year.

    Happy New Year Grace!

  2. I went VLC and woke up one day…. and didn’t recognize myself in the mirror… in a bad way. I added some phase 3 carbs and decided to stop fighting my body… now I want to work with it to help… not to BEAT it into shape.
    Happy 2012!

  3. I love all 3 suggestions already!!! And I have a head of cabbage in the fridge. Eating pork and sauerkraut today but will bake that cabbage while my oven is hot!! Thanks for your help as we kick off 2012 the right way!!

    • Yay!! Let me know how you like it. I would love to know what works for other so please share your journey along the away. You can do this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

