Beer Turkey

Before Christmas Kroger had turkeys on sale so I bought two. I cooked one and saved the other in the freezer for later. I wasn’t in the mood for a stuffed turkey since we had just had one at Thanksgiving but decided to try the exact same technique for Beer Chicken but used a turkey instead. The results were the best, most tender turkey I have ever had. Mike and I both loved this.

I didn’t make it on the grill as the turkey was so large, but I placed it in the roasting pan as I normally wouldand filled the cavity with 12 ounces of beer. I mixed the spices and completely covered the turkey and baked.  I don’t have a picture of the turkey as it came out of the oven because I had let my battery die and the picture I took with my cell phone was horrible.

I did get a picture the next day with my left overs. We ate turkey for a couple of days and then I froze the rest to enjoy at a later time.

Beer Turkey

  • 14 pound turkey
  • 2 Tablespoons splenda
  • 2 Tablespoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon dry mustard powder
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 2 Tablespoons kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground black pepper
  • 12 ounce bottle of bud light (this is low in carbs)

Clean the turkey by removing the giblets, rinsing with water and drying with paper towels. Brush the turkey with the oil. Make a rub by combining the splenda, paprika, mustard powder, chili powder, salt and pepper. Rub the mixture over the turkey, inside and out.

Place turkey in the roasting pan and pouring all 12 ounces of the beer into the cavity of the turkey. Place lid on roaster and bake at 450 degrees for 3 hours or until legs fall away from turkey easily.

Allow turkey to sit for 15 minutes before carving. Serve.

Carbs are less than a pound each serving.

Leave a Reply

