My Favorite Slow Cooker

Over the last almost 4 years my readers have heard me praise my favorite slow cooker.

Rival SCRC501-SS 5-Quart Countdown Slow Cooking Crock Pot Cooker, Stainless Steel

Well I am going to praise it again. I can’t speak highly enough of this slow cooker. One of the main reasons that I love this one is the ease of which I can program it to switch to warm when my meal is cooked and I am at work. I never have to worry that my dinner will burn or be too dry to eat.

As you know I plan my meals each week and I can’t stress enough the importance of planning your meals if you have Diabetes. Failing to plan is planning to fail. I am not saying that you have to buy this slow cooker but I am saying that my life has been made much easier by using this. I can literally take 10 minutes the night before and prepare the food that will go into it the next morning. Before work I take 5 minutes and throw it into the slow cooker and I have enough food to last us 2 evenings.

Some people think that I must be cooking non-stop and that isn’t true. By planning ahead, cooking double and freezing leftovers I only cook perhaps 4 times a week and I never eat out. I make my own breakfasts, lunch and dinner each week. This slow cooker has made my life so much easier.

4 responses to “My Favorite Slow Cooker

  1. Hmmmm, that’s been the only problem for me w/my slow cooker – I know the meal will be done 2 hours or so before I get home from work – What a fantastic component of the slow cooker – to allow you to switch over to “warm”. I think i may be having to invest in one of these. I would like to use my slow cooker more but haven’t bcs of this issue. Thanks Grace!!!!

    • Lucy you will love this slow cooker. I kept telling my mom how wonderful this one was and she didn’t believe that she would use it. I bought her one for her birthday and she has been using it weekly now. She loves it. Being able to program it and walk away is such a relief for me. 🙂

  2. http://swimtaxi234.blogspot.com/2011/09/mexican-chicken-yum.html

    I love this recipe using the boneless, skinless thighs (it is the dark meat that makes it so good). Could you adapt it for you?

    • Oh this looks really good. It is already low carb as it is. The only thing I would add is when you make it into a tostada I would use the low carb tortillas. I would probably love this dish. I will have to try it soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

