Dutch Fried Cabbage

I have to give a disclaimer with this one. This is a very spicy recipe. The first day that I ate it I wasn’t sure if I liked it or would add it to the blog. The second day that I tried it I liked it more. I think it is a bit too spicy for my taste and I will only add a half a can of Rotel Tomatoes next time. I am giving you the recipe the exact same way that I made it and you can decide how many Rotel Tomatoes that you want to put in yours.

Dutch Fried Cabbage

  • 1 medium head Green Cabbage, washed and chopped
  • 1/2 Med. Onion Chopped
  • 1/2 Med. Bell Pepper-Chopped
  • 1 Clove Garlic-Diced
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste
  • 1 14.5 ounce cans tomatoes
  • 1 can Rotel Tomatoes( Diced) (I will only use half a can next time)
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil


In a large stock pot place olive oil, garlic and onions, start to cook over medium heat and add cabbage. cover and cook over medium low heat until cabbage starts to wilt, add salt and pepper and remaining ingredients, cover and cook on very low heat until cabbage is tender. I sometimes remove the lid during part of the cooking process to insure that the cabbage has a thicker sauce by allowing the water to evaporate and reduce. Serves 8

Nutritional Information- calories 78, Carbohydrates- 11.36 (fiber- 3.64, sugars- 5.4)

Net carbs- 7.72

One response to “Dutch Fried Cabbage

  1. I know you said this was spicy *wink*
    Looks GREAT! Another one of yours I’mma try!

Leave a Reply

