Spicy Chicken Soup

I made this recipe a couple of weeks ago and forgot to post it. I tried to take a picture of this but my battery had died and I was unable to. You will have to take my word for it that it was beautiful. đŸ™‚

Mike and I liked this very much. Me so more than he did. The recipe actually called for tortillas in it after cooking but I tried it both ways and I preferred it without the low carb tortillas. I did not find that it needed anything extra added to it.  This is my version of Spicy Chicken Soup.

Spicy Chicken Soup

  • 2.5 pounds frozen chicken tenders
  • 2 cans (15 ounces, each) diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 can chicken broth
  • 1 can (4 ounces) chopped mild green chilies,
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cups Monterey Jack Cheese, shredded

Place chicken in a 4.5 quart slow cooker. Combine everything except cheese and pour over chicken. Cook on low for 7 hours. Remove chicken from the pot and shred with a form. Return to slow cooker and add cheese and stir until melted. Cook an additional 10 minutes on low and serve. Serves- 6.

Nutritional Information- 223.79 calories, Carbohydrates- 9.25 (fiber- 2.49, sugars- 4.65)

Net carbs- 6.76 per serving.

Leave a Reply

