Chef Jeff Project

Yesterday I went to a conference that was being held by KISRA in Charleston, WV.  This is a wonderful organization that was started by a local church in order to assist families in rebuilding their relationships. They branched out into assisting people in prisons to prepare for their release and integration back into society. They tutor children who are in danger of dropping out of school. They assist the pregnant teens to keep them in school. I can’t possibly tell you everything that they do so I highly recommend that you click on their name above and learn more.

I attended 4 workshops and learned a great deal from them. The first one was held by a woman from New York City named Funmilayo Chesney. She is a dance instructor who also loves to eat healthy. While I don’t particularly agree with everything that she said I appreciate the passion with which she shared it. She feels just as passionate about her way of eating as I do for mine and I had to immediately like this woman. She believes in eating a total vegetarian diet and does not recommend eating cheese at all. She made a drink in the workshop and allowed people to try it. I have to admit that I did not get into line to try this. Some people liked it and some people didn’t.

What I did take from her class is that if you have a lack of potassium you will have difficulty with poor circulation and constipation. She recommends eating leafy vegetables, watercress, parsley, chard, tomatoes, beets, spinach, dandelion and watermelon. She also advocates that people diabetes or colon issues should replace black pepper for cayenne pepper. She recommends having cayenne pepper daily to help with colon cleansing. She really really believes that people do not poop enough. You had to have been there to understand it all.

The second workshop that I attended left me frustrated and I won’t dwell on it. I am not sure if the woman leading it was really as irritating as I thought she was or if I was just cranky because it was past my normal lunch time. LOL

During lunch we had a keynote speaker that made my day. Chef Jeff Henderson from Food TV’s Chef Jeff Project was fabulous. This man is so passionate about helping others. His story is amazing. He went to prison for 10 years for dealing crack cocaine. He took responsibility for his actions and decided to make his life better. He worked hard and became a chef and now gives back to people in prison to help them to turn their lives around too. This man inspired me to want to do more and help more.

Later in the day I attended another workshop and he came in and participated too as an audience member. He is coming back to our area in September and plans to visit the local prisons and encourage them to attend cooking classes and get their lives straight. I will take many things away from attending this conference and hopefully it will allow me to give back to all of my readers. I had never watched the Chef Jeff Project but I plan to check him out now.

Leave a Reply

