Vitreous Detachment

So is this a new word for anyone else? I learned what this was today. I was coming out of a client’s home today and suddenly experienced a flash of light in my right eye and then had moving wavy lines in my vision. I couldn’t get past this and after several minutes of blinking it wouldn’t go away. I quickly wondered if it was caused by my Diabetes so I tested my level and it was only 84 so I knew that wasn’t the problem. 

I was with my Field Trainer when it happened and he loaned me his sunglasses because the bright sunlight was making it hard for me to see out of my right eye. I went to the eye doctor and learned that I have a Vitreous Detachment. It isn’t painful which is good because I will be honest. I am a wimp when it comes to pain. The doctor said that it will heal itself and he went into very detailed explanation of what it is and how it will heal itself but it could take up to  2 months to do so. 

For now I am still seeing what appears to be a ‘cobweb’ over my eye and many many floaters but it is getting lighter.  I was telling my field trainer that it would not be pretty on the home front if I had to put medicine in my eye and I couldn’t wear my eye make-up. He laughed and said it wouldn’t be pretty on the job front either. hahahaha He cracks me up. 

If you want to learn more about Vitreous Detachment click here. 

One response to “Vitreous Detachment

  1. take care and keep monitoring your vision. could this cause blindness? wear your sunglasses, girl!

Leave a Reply

