Canning- Beef Stew

I wanted to make a low carb canned beef stew but for several reasons I couldn’t come up with that yet. I tried to think of things that would be low carb and good in it but let me break it down for you. Instead of potatoes I considered cauliflower but everything that I read showed that it comes out mushy when canned.

I considered cabbage but it isn’t recommended for canning either. That leaves us with green beans, onions, green peppers and carrots. I still feel that it needs a filler such as potatoes do for the beef stew. I am still thinking on it but I am showing you what I did for my husband on Sunday.

I took a large roast. Any cut should do because it will become very tender through the pressure canning process. Cut the meat into bite size pieces.

I placed the meat in the bottom of the jar and topped with chopped potatoes. Then since this is fall and I don’t have fresh vegetables I bought cans of mixed vegetables at the store. I used 4 cans to add to this. I drained all of the liquid from the cans first. Next I added green beans. You can use fresh or canned if fresh are not available. It doesn’t take many. If you are using cans I would say perhaps 2-3. Next top with tomato juice.  When I do this in the summer I use fresh tomatoes but since I don’t have them available at this time of the year I bought 2 large cans of tomato juice and used that instead.

I added about 1/2 teaspoon dried onion to mine but fresh will work as well. For spices I added 1/2 teaspoon each of oregano, basil and black pepper. You must use canning salt and not regular table salt. For each quart you will add 1 teaspoon canning salt, for pints 1/2 teaspoon. All of your ingredients should come to within 1/2 inch of top of jar.

Place lids and bands on jars.

Place jars in pressure canner and fill to within 1/2 inch of canner with water. Place lid on pressure canner according to the instruction of your canner.  I added the pressure gauge that is 10 pounds of pressure and placed on stove top. Once the gauge began to jiggle I allowed the canner to process quarts for 90 minutes and pints for 75 minutes.

Remove canner from heat and allow canner to naturally cool and release the pressure. Do  NOT attempt at quick releasing the pressure on your canner. You stand a very good chance of getting burned that way. Once there is no longer pressure on the canner remove the lid and using your jar lifter remove the jars and place on a towel on your counter.

While the jars naturally cool you will hear them seal (popping noise). This shows that the jar has sealed. Allow jars to remain on the counter for at least 24 hours before moving them to the pantry.

At this point you can remove the bands and wash and reuse the bands.

If you have any jars that did not seal you can either process again using the same method above or you can put in the refrigerator and eat within a few days. Mike prefers eating them within a few days. 🙂

Save those bones to make your own beef broth. I will be doing that as soon as I get enough bones together. For now this one is going back into the freezer. 🙂

I have found several meat recipes that I will be canning over the next couple of weeks. I will also find a way to make canned stew meat where I can add a few items shortly before eating to make our low carb version.

6 responses to “Canning- Beef Stew

  1. Grace I have been canning cabbage for years and have great success and Mom canned as long as I can remember until she was unable to do any canning, she used to can vegetable soup and included cabbage in it but the best I can remember she did leave the cabbage in pretty large pieces. Thanks Bill

    • Bill thank you so much for responding. I will try the vegetable soup soon and will get back to you on how it turns out. You made me one happy camper. 🙂

  2. I must say they look gorgeous….of course my hubby says I am the only person he knows who thinks the strangest things look pretty. I plan to can a few jars of this later this week. I will probably add potatoes and just pick them out if/when I eat it too. It’s been so long since I have had a potato! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

    • Brenda please share a picture of your gorgeous cans of stew too.I also find canned items to be very pretty. It is very rewarding to look at your accomplishments and know that your family is going to be fed healthy food that you prepared. I totally understand. 🙂

  3. If you can eat them w/out a spike in your blood sugar, a few chunks of sweet potato are a great addition to stew. I like the little bit of sweetness they add. Just a thought:)
    I love looking at jars of home-canned food as well.

Leave a Reply

