Canning Dried Beans

Despite dried beans being  a bit high in carbs I do use them sparingly in different recipes. They add protein and we all need protein. I like to can them in pint jars and use them in recipes.  As you all know Mike loves his pinto and mixed beans. I usually make a large slow cooker of these for him each week and he enjoys them each evening with his dinner. He eats them the way the rest of us do a vegetable.

Canning dried beans is very easy.  You will need a pressure canner again for this. I add bacon or ham to each jar for extra flavor. You will need 10 pint size jars (or 7  quart jars).  Wash them and inspect rims for cracks or chips.

The night before put 2 quarts of dried beans into a large pot and cover with water. The water will need to be several inches over the top of the beans.  Allow to sit overnight. The next morning you will heat and simmer for 30 minutes. I put bacon in the bottom of the jars and put the partially cooked beans into each jar. I put the beans in the jars without the liquid and save the broth to add after I am sure that I get all of the beans into the jars.

Next I like to add a small amount of dried onion to the top of each jar. Then add 1/2 teaspoon canning salt per pint jar (1 teaspoon per quart jar) and add liquid to half an inch from top of jar. Place lid and band on jar and place in canner. Add water to half an inch from top of canner. Place lid on pressure canner per manufacturer instructions and add 10 pound pressure on canner. Then place over high heat on stove top.

Once the 10 pound weight begins to jiggle process 75 minutes for pints (90 minutes for quarts).  Remove from heat and allow pressure canner to naturally cool and release pressure. Do NOT attempt to assist with the canner releasing its pressure. You may become seriously burned.

Once the pressure is released from the canner you can use a jar lifter and remove jars from canner. Place on a towel to cool. You will hear a popping noise when jars begin to seal. This is normal and the result that you want.  Allow them to cool and then remove bands and store in a cool dark place.

If any of the jars do not seal you can either repeat the process above or store in the refrigerator and consume within a few days. I only had one jar not seal this time. I am sure Mike will have no problem using these. 🙂

See how pretty they look in my pantry next to my low carb beef stew?

I have been slowly adding to my pantry. This is how it looks now. I hope to have it where I want it to be within the next month. Then I will begin working on my health and hygiene pantry. 🙂

4 responses to “Canning Dried Beans

  1. When I read the title I thought you meant dried beans without other ingredients. We can a huge variety of foods including meatballs, soups, rouladen, etc. I have 3 large pressure canners, 1 electric pressure cooker, & 3 pressure cookers. I love cooking pot roast and other meats in the pressure cookers because the meat comes out so tender.

    You might enjoy this story I heard at the checkout lane last year. This young woman was complaining that her beans came out totally hard. When I asked her how she made them she said she put them in a casserole dish with some vegetables and baked it. I asked her how much water or stock she put in and she said NONE! I explained to her how to properly cook beans (presoaking then cooking) and she said she felt so stupid.I told her we all start out at that same point when we start learning to cook. She asked me if I could show her which beans to get and some other general tips. We both took our carts out of the line and went back to the bean section. Afterwards I gave her the name of some good basic cookbooks. My husband rolled on the floor when I told him why I was late..

    • That is too funny. I used to have a smaller pressure cooker that I made roasts in often but it broke and I never replaced it. I do miss it.

  2. You might want to cover your jars with a cloth to keep dust off them. We also put mint sprigs in our cabinets to keep mice away. Your pantry looks to organized. Ours has 3 years worth of food stockpiled (including salt, sugar, flour (we put these in cleaned kitty litter buckets or bakery goods buckets we buy from our local grocery store for a couple of dollars a piece).

    • When you get the bakery goods buckets did you just go to the deli and ask or did they have them marked for sale already? I would love to get the buckets. I love the idea about the mint sprigs too.

Leave a Reply

