Chicken Salad

I have been buying Chicken Salad from a local grocery store and paying so much more than it is worth just for the convenience of not having to cook it myself. On Saturday I put a whole roasting chicken in the crockpot and cooked it using the following recipe.

Chicken in the Slow Cooker

I ended up with a huge bowl of chicken once I had removed the bones. I asked Caleb to help me make chicken salad and he put one handful in my Ninja chopper bowl and then about 10 bites into his mouth. 🙂

Caleb and his parents gave me the Ninja for Christmas and I love it. I hate to chop onions and this thing chops them very tiny for me. I didn’t put onion in the chicken salad but I did use the Ninja to chop the chicken and the celery. Caleb got so excited when he saw that I had celery. He quickly asked if I had peanut butter. He said his daddy makes him celery with peanut butter on it for snacks. Of course I had to make that for him for his lunch on Sunday. 🙂

I apologize for sharing a picture of the dirty Ninja. I was so busy with Caleb that I didn’t take a picture before we started cooking. 🙂

Take a look at the picture below. Do you see the little bowl beside the glass bowl? That is the little bowl that the deli used to put my chicken salad in. I was paying almost $6 for that bowl of chicken salad. Do you see the big glass bowl of chicken salad? That bowl of chicken salad cost me less than $5. I also had enough chicken left over to put into as casserole as well.

I don’t have exact measurements for this. I apologize now. When I was at the deli  I tasted a couple of different types of chicken salad and the one that had a lot of pickle relish in it was my favorite. For that reason I  have added quite a bit to mine. Caleb suggested putting hard boiled eggs in it since we put those in our tuna salad.

Once this was all mixed Caleb tasted it and said it would taste great on bread. haha I will provide various ways of eating this during the week. 🙂

Chicken Salad

  • Chopped cooked chicken
  • mayonnaise
  • chopped celery
  • pickle relish or you can chop sugar free bread and butter pickles
  • chopped onion-optional
  • a couple of glugs of Worcestershire Sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients well. Keep refrigerated. It tasted better the next day once the ingredients had time to blend together.

4 responses to “Chicken Salad

  1. Sounds yummy! I’ve never thought to put Worcestershire in chicken salad but I might need to try it!

    • I had seen it on a recipe that was drastically different from this one and decided to give it a try. I will have to add more next time. It was very good but I needed to add even more pickle to it too. 🙂

  2. Sounds delicious!! Definitely will try! I’ve thought of getting a Ninja…sounds like it will for sure be on my birthday list :).

    • I LOVE my Ninja. A friend bought one at Walmart over the weekend for only $27 but it didn’t have the little chopping bowl with it. It was only the blender. I haven’t used my blender part yet but I am sure that I will love it too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

