Goodbye Sweet Buford

This has been a very difficult day for several reasons. My heart is breaking. I have been going through something very personal and I am unable to share that at this time. It is one reason that I haven’t been posting much lately. Tonight I was trying to get some work done and suddenly Buford became very ill. His stomach became distended and he began moaning and throwing up. It wouldn’t stop and after several minutes we were able to get him into the car.

The vet said that his stomach had flipped and was now going in the opposite direction. Without surgery it was always fatal. Due to his age of 16 the doctor did not recommend surgery so he was put down to relieve his pain. This is one of the saddest days of my life. Daisy has always been his little sidekick and she keeps looking for him and walking around the house crying. My house feels so empty without him.

Please keep us all in your prayers. The next few months are going to be very difficult for us all.

 

13 responses to “Goodbye Sweet Buford

  1. My heart goes out to you. It is gut-wrenching to lose a beloved pet who is like a member of the family. Have a good, hard cry and try to remember the good times with him. He knew he had been very much loved by you and your family as he crossed over the rainbow bridge into heaven.

  2. I am so sorry. I recently lost my 13 year old Yorkie just before Christmas. My heart aches for you.

  3. I’m so sorry for your loss đŸ˜¦ I hope this helps. It helped me when my dog passed last year.

    Sent from my iPad

  4. I am so very sorry. Our dogs are absolutely members of our family and make their own special place deep within our hearts, Bless you for loving him enough to let him go….such a hard choice to make.

  5. I love dogs – I can’t wait to have a canine companion of my very own…so my heart breaks right along side of yours… so sorry for your loss…

  6. Stand in the shower and let the tears flow! I am so sad for you and Mike. Know that Buford knows he was very loved and snuggle little Daisy. Also remember that God gives us a rainbow at the end of the rain. (and eat some chocolate, it helps the endorphins)

  7. So very sorry. I know how hard it is, and I still cry after several years. When I see all the dogs out there who endure so much every day, the only comfort is knowing that your dog had a good life, and was loved.

  8. So sorry to hear of your loss,i understand what you’re going through and i sympathize.Remember the good times and the smiles he put on your faceand think of him even when you’re sad because i’m sure he always cheered you up when you were down.You’re in our prayers and thoughts xo

  9. Just wanted to check in on you and let you know I’m praying for you. Sometimes life brings much sadness and turmoil, but remember Who is always there.

  10. I’m so sorry. We’re praying for your comfort and sweet Daisy’s.

  11. Our family lost our first “baby”, Squiggy, a dachshund, about 10 years ago and I still remember coming home and feeling that something was missing – no Squigs wiggling (and peeing – LOL) with his tail going a mile a minute greeting us. It didn’t matter if we had been gone for the day or just stepped out to get the paper. He was always there to greet us:) The house felt so empty without him so I know how you guys are feeling now losing Buford. On a happier note, our house is now filled with dachshunds, two of ours and two belonging to our son. Our one dachshund we adopted from Kentucky Dachshund Rescue. But Squigs will always be our first baby and we still put his picture on our Christmas tree every year:)

  12. I am so very sorry for your loss. HUGS!

  13. I’m so sorry for your loss. Putting a dog down is not easy thing to do. We have had to do it twice so I know what you are going through. I still miss both of them. I will keep you in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

