Cheddar Broccoli Carrot Soup

I had never tried broccoli soup but I had been wanting to try one and this one was very filling. I used my Ninja Chopper to chop everything and it was very easy to do. I knew that I didn’t want big pieces of the veggies but that was just my preference. You can make your veggies any size that you wish them to be. With the veggies chopped so small it gave it the texture of another soup recipe that I used to make – Cheese Potato Soup. Of course that is not allowed in my diet now so this soup will take its place for a hearty soup on a cold rainy day.

Cheddar Broccoli Carrot Soup

  • 4 Tablespoons Butter
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon granulated garlic
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 5-6 cups chopped broccoli
  • 1 1/2 cups finely chopped carrots
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon cardamom
  • 12 ounces sharp cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • hot sauce is optional

In a large stockpot melt butter and add onion. Cook until onion is translucent and tender. Add chicken broth, water and heavy whipping cream and bring to a simmer. Add broccoli, carrots and spices and cook for 20 minutes stirring often and scraping bottom of pot. It will scorch if not stirred often. Add cheese and stir to melt. Simmer another 7-8 minutes and serve. Add hot sauce if desired.

2 responses to “Cheddar Broccoli Carrot Soup

  1. Yummy! Looks delicious.

    • It really was. I woke up this morning with the sniffles and this was just what I needed to make me feel better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

