Stuffed Rib Eyes

I made this tonight for dinner and I loved it. I packed the other steak for my steak to take to work with him tonight. He is bringing me some fresh eggs from his hens on his way there. It was very simple to make and I will be making this often. I am usually not a fan of Swiss Cheese but I did like it this way.

The steak is stuffed with sauteed mushrooms but I recommend that if you don’t like mushrooms you can use sauteed onions instead.

Stuffed Rib Eyes

  • 2 thick Rib Eye Steaks
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon granulated garlic
  • 4 ounces shredded Swiss Cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried Rosemary
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried Thyme

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut the steaks into horizontally without completely slicing through them to make a pocket. Sprinkle inside and out with black pepper and kosher salt. Set aside.

In skillet, melt butter and add mushrooms and garlic and saute’ for 5 minutes. Drain liquid from mushrooms and add Rosemary and Thyme. Spread mushroom mixture inside of steaks.  Add Swiss Cheese to middle of pocket with the mushroom mixture. Place in baking dish and place in oven.

Bake according to how you prefer your steaks to be cooked. I like mine to be well done so I baked them for 25-30 minutes.  Remove from oven and serve immediately. Serves 2.

These are less than 2 carbs per steak with stuffing.

Leave a Reply

