Cream of Tomato Soup with Basil

One of my favorite comfort foods is a nice warm bowl of tomato soup. As a child I can’t tell you how many cans of Campbell’s Tomato Soup I have eaten. Now that I have Diabetes I can’t eat my old favorite Campbell’s soup any longer without spiking my glucose. This evening I made a nice pot of soup and it was fantastic. I will be making this at least monthly.

On my way home from work tonight it was pouring the rain and this soup just seemed appropriate for the evening. I tried both with and without Parmesan cheese and I prefer it with the cheese but it was also very good without it.

Cream of Tomato Soup with Basil without cheese

Cream of Tomato Soup with Basil and Parmesan Cheese

Edited to add: I have added this to Map My Fitness if you want to add it as part of your daily food log. You can find it here.

Cream of Tomato Soup with Basil- Map My Fitness

Cream of Tomato Soup with Basil and Parmesan Cheese

  • 1 large onion, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 16-ounce cans diced tomatoes
  • salt to taste
  • freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 4 large tomatoes pureed in blender
  • 1 quart chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon basil, dried
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • Parmesan cheese

In a large pot, saute the onions and garlic in the olive oil. Add the red pepper flakes and canned tomatoes, season with salt and pepper and add the parsley. Allow to cook for 10-15 minutes until and deglaze with the white wine; reduce by half. Then add the fresh tomatoes and broth. Simmer for 30 minutes. Add heavy whipping cream and serve. Add Parmesan Cheese before serving. Serves 10.

Nutritional Information: Calories- 109, Protein 1.7 grams, Carbohydrates 8 grams, Fiber 1.7 grams. Fat 8 grams.

Net Carbs- 6.4 grams

Leave a Reply

