Fried Cauliflower with Caper Aioli

I loved this recipe. It resembles the texture of tator tots but the sauce adds an adult flavor to it. I have to be careful because it is difficult for me to remain objective and only eat one serving.

I found this recipe in the Low Carb Italian Cookbook by the Love Chef but I made a couple of changes to it. He instructed us to use soy flour but after researching soy over the past few years I no longer use it. I don’t believe it is healthy for me. I used coconut flour and it was very good.

Fried Cauliflower with Caper Aioli

  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2 Tablespoons capers, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • salt to taste
  • black pepper to taste
  • coconut flour
  • 1 large head of cauliflower, cored and cut into florets
  • 4 eggs, beaten

To make the aioli, combine the mayonnaise, lemon juice, capers, garlic, salt and pepper in a bowl and stir well to combine. Set aside in refrigerator to keep cold.

In a medium saucepan, heat enough to oil to measure 1 inch of depth to 350 degrees. Put the coconut flour in a medium bowl and add a handful or two of the cauliflower florets. Toss to dust the cauliflower, shake the cauliflower to remove  excess. Dip the pieces in the beaten egg and fry until golden brown. Transfer to plate and keep warm while you fry the remaining pieces. When all the cauliflower is fried, season with salt and pepper and serve immediately with the aioli for dipping.

Nutritional information- Calories- 628, Protein- 9.6 grams, carbohydrates- 13.5 grams, Fiber- 5.4 grams, fat- 61.8 grams

Net carbs- 8.1 grams

4 responses to “Fried Cauliflower with Caper Aioli

  1. These look really delicious. They put me to mind of breaded mushrooms (which I adore). I haven’t responded too much on FB or on here because I’m dealing with some family issues, but I wanted to take the time to say that I think you are doing very well getting on with your life. I know it was hard and heartbreaking (been there), but you picked yourself up, dusted yourself off and carried on. I admire you for that. You’re doing great!!!

    • Thank you so much Lori. I am sorry for what you are going through. God will bring you through it. You just have to have faith. 🙂

  2. Made this tonight with parmesean crusted pork loin chops. The dip went great with those also:-) Thank you it will be a new fav with us for dinner 🙂

    Your blog is inspirational in so many ways 🙂

    • I am so glad to hear this. I don’t get many comments often and I wonder if people are just looking or actually making the recipes. This makes me smile! 🙂

Leave a Reply

