Sausages with Bell Peppers, Onions and Fennel

This recipe is one of my favorite. I made it for the first time more than a year ago but I didn’t share it with you for some reason. I was working at a nursing home at the time and I took it to a pot luck luncheon and it was a big hit. It makes a lot so be prepared to either share or freeze. It freezes very well.

It calls for Merlot and since you can’t store Merlot I just make a big batch to use the entire bottle at once.

This picture is of it without the cheese.

This is with the cheese. It would have been prettier if I had grated my cheese myself but due to financial constraints I am only buying the big green can right now.

Sausages with Bell Peppers, Onion and Fennel

  • 2 pounds bulk sausage, roll- crumbled
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 2 medium red bell peppers, sliced
  • 2 medium green bell peppers, sliced
  • 2 medium fennel- cored and cut into strips
  • 6 garlic, minced
  • 1 bottle merlot
  • 2 15-ounce cans diced tomatoes with garlic, oregano and basil
  • 1 teaspoon dried Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon fennel seeds
  • Grated Parmesan

In a large pan cook sausage until done. Remove from pan and leaving only 1 Tablespoon of grease in pan add onions, peppers and fennel. Cook stirring frequently until onions begin to soften. Add garlic, merlot, tomatoes, Italian seasoning and fennel. Cook another 30 minutes uncovered, stirring often until liquids cook down. Serve with the sauce on this and top with Parmesan Cheese.

Nutritional Information- Calories- 658, Protein- 27 grams, Carbohydrates- 15.7 grams, Fiber- 3.5, Fat- 46 grams

Net Carbs- 12.2 grams

 

4 responses to “Sausages with Bell Peppers, Onions and Fennel

  1. I made this for dinner last night and it was delicous. I’d definately add this to my favorite recipes list. Thanks so much.

    • I am so glad that you enjoyed it. This is one of my favorite meals. Do you have a husband and kids? Did they like it too? I love to find family approved foods.

  2. We have been married just 3 yrs and are empty nesters. My husband isn’t too fond of fennel but I love it so I was happy to freeze the leftovers for my lunches at work. Perfect. 🙂

Leave a Reply

