I Am Back!!

It has been a long couple of weeks. I have been without computer and internet for more than 10 days. I have been on facebook but had to rely strictly on my smartphone. To say that I have been miserable has been an understatement. It seemed that I lost the computer and internet at the same time.

I had my personal laptop at a home and it made this crackling sound and smoke came out of the keyboard. Since I am getting a divorce I needed to get my home internet put into my own name and Suddenlink said it had to be turned off out of my husband’s name for 5 days before they could even take the request to get it put into my name. Their five days turned into 10 days. Ugh!!!

During this time Isaiah had his first birthday party and I have a million and one pictures to share. I am working out daily and sharing my running and zumba progress on Facebook. I am probably driving everyone crazy but I hope it inspires others to get out and start living their lives.

I am really enjoying working out and planning my meals and getting healthier daily. I like being in control of my own destiny. There are certain things in life that you have no control over. Why not fight back and make your life even better by being healthy? You can do this. We can do this together.

One night while I was jogging at the local high school I was talking with a woman from my Zumba class. She works at Curves as a coach and she told me one reason that I am not losing as much weight as I should be considering how often I am working out is that I am not eating enough calories. I have decided to up my calories and see if this helps me to lose again.

Yesterday after work I went to Krogers and bought the following veggies to up my calories. I plan to be smart about this. I am not adding junk calories and carbs to my meals. I am going to put healthy food options into my body. I bought the following veggies to enjoy this week.

  • cabbage
  • asparagus
  • carrots
  • broccoli
  • cucumber
  • onions
  • cauliflower

When I was looking at the pictures that my daughter took of me at Isaiah’s birthday party it saddened me because I can see such a drastic difference from my this time last year. I only need to lose 10 pounds but on my frame and height it really shows as more. During the holidays when I knew that my marriage was ending and the winter months of trying to figure out how after 21 years I would be single and afford to live on my own I ate comfort food and worked many long hours. I gained the weight and had very little exercise. I am taking control of this and fixing this problem.

Who else wants to join me and take a pledge to eat healthy and exercise daily? I am using Map My Fitness both on my phone and on my computer to monitor how often I am working out and how many calories and carbs I am eating. I would be so happy if I could get at least ten people to say that they will do it with me. We can join forces and talk about it here and on facebook. Who is with me?

12 responses to “I Am Back!!

  1. I’m in! I’ve flip-flopped lately with eating too much junk and letting vacation and being sick being an excuse to not eat healthy. Just got back from Costco and have lots of veggies and lean meats to eat this week!

  2. Yes, I’ve been going to the gym pretty well up until my vacation two weeks ago, I am going to get back to the gym this week and/or take my nephews on walks and do some dancing video games with them! I am maremare312 on MFP if you want to add me!

    • This is great. Even though we can’t tag team on MFP we can on here and on Facebook. Are you following me on Facebook? I mowed my lawn today and just finished 2.5 miles at the local track. 🙂

  3. Oh, I read that wrong, I use My Fitness Pal, you use Map My Fitness.

  4. good luck, not ready to commit for myself (too many other things going on) and waiting to see pics of the little one!

    • Linda I have no doubt that you will join us when you are ready. We all have to be in the right place at the right time. We will still be here when you are ready. 🙂

  5. Oh my, this is exactly what I needed. Today I went to Kohls and was trying on clothes. When I looked in the mirror I was sickened by the amount of weight I have put on. I have been following your blog for quite some time and am excited about this challenge. I tend to do a fair amount of excercise, but it is the healthy eating where I fall short. Thanks for the push.

    • Judy I am glad to have you join us. Are you on my Facebook page too? Do you use Map My Fitness? It is a wonderful tool that you can use on your computer or on your phone. It keeps track of how many calories you are burning through exercise and how many calories and carbs you are eating each day.

  6. Susan Kopczyk

    I went to join in, too. I need to lose 17 pounds and I’ve been slacking on the exercise. I have my bag packed and will be at the Y tomorrow for water aerobics and yoga. I have a Body Media Core which syncs with My Fitness Pal. It tracks all my activity and sleep. It also syncs to Walgreens Step program where you get Balance Reward points for your exercise.

    I’m doing medically supervised weight loss and my goals have been set to no more than 50 g net carbs, at least 100 g protein and no more than 1,000 calories daily. I’ve lost 18 pounds since May 7.

    • Welcome Susan. I am glad to see you join. I have never heard of the Walgreen’s Step Program. I will have to look into that. I love Walgreens. Congratulations on the weight loss. You may find it more difficult to lose once you begin to work out. I know that I did. I had to step up my calories once I was burning so many calories by working out. It made my body think it was in starvation mode. Be sure to talk to your doctor if you notice this too.

      • Susan Kopczyk

        I just needed to clarify that I am not new to exercise. I have a personal trainer I work with twice a month and a membership to the Y. I was just not doing as many workouts as I should. I can work out just fine on the calories I am eating. I am checked every 2 weeks at the doc’s office and I have been losing fat and only lost just over a pound of lean body mass.

Leave a Reply

