Strawberry Cheesecake Crepes

I asked for suggestions for what kind of recipes people wanted to see on Facebook and HesFallen, Tippi and Susan asked for different things that I tried to put into one recipe. Their requests were for a dessert, breakfast and simple quick fix recipe. I think this one fits the bill. It is very light and filling and quick and easy to make.

One thing that I do but I don’t really talk about much on here is I try to eat clean. By eating clean I mean that I try to eat organic and to avoid GMO food items. I buy my vital wheat gluten in the healthy foods section at Krogers. I buy free range eggs at Krogers unless I am getting them from my son. I know both places offer me eggs that the hens were allowed freedom and were not fed hormones or GMO grain.

When buying strawberries you should really pay the extra fee and purchase organic. Strawberries have a soft skin and all of the pesticides that are put on the plants are absorbed into the fruit and then enter your body. Organic is the way to go. When you begin to make healthier choices you will notice that you feel better.

There have been a lot of controversial discussions regarding Splenda. I use Splenda regularly and wish that I could find something healthier and more natural but so far I haven’t found anything that I like or that my body will accept. Xylitol is more natural but it has a laxative effect on me and that just won’t work for me. The rolling gas is painful and I feel as if I have a stomach bug when I eat it. I don’t like Stevia. I don’t like the flavor at all. I am looking into other alternatives and I will let you know what I find. For now I am using Splenda.

I have added this recipe to Map My Fitness so if you make it you can easily enter your calorie count, protein and carbs. Click here to see the entry.

Strawberry Cream Cheese Crepes

Topping:

  • 1/2 cup your favorite sugar free substitute
  • 1 1/2 cup chopped strawberries
  • 2 teaspoon pure vanilla

Mix together in a bowl and allow to rest while you prepare the filling and crepes. The juices will flow from the strawberries during this time.

Filling:

  • 1 cup chopped strawberries
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup your favorite sugar free substitute
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla

Blend the cream cheese, substitute, lemon juice and vanilla until well blended. Stir in strawberries and allow to rest while you prepare the crepes.

Crepes:

  • 3 large eggs
  • 3 Tablespoons Vital Wheat Gluten
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 Tablespoon Heavy Whipping Cream
  • 1 Tablespoon your favorite sugar free substitute

Mix all ingredients together and blend well. In a non-stick melt a small bit of coconut oil and allow to coat pan. Pour in a small amount of the crepe batter and roll the pan allowing the batter to spread in the pan to make a very thin crepe. Allow to cook and flip once.

Fill the crepe with the cream cheese filling and roll. Top the crepe with strawberry mixture. Serves 5.

Nutritional Information: Calories- 272, Fat- 22.9, Cholesterol- 132.2, Carbs- 14.2 (fiber- 1.6, sugars- 5.2), Protein- 10.9.

Net Carbs- 12.6

 

4 responses to “Strawberry Cheesecake Crepes

  1. Have you tried erythritol? I use it for foods served hot or baked. I use a blend of 1 part erythritol to 2 parts Splenda. not the best, but I use less Splenda that way.
    I’d like to find a better sub too. We have experienced the exact same issues/side affects with the others you mentioned.

    • I have tried erythritol and it causes me the same reaction as xylitol. Anything that ends in itol works the same with me. :::sigh:::

  2. Have you looked at erythritol?

    • Yes I have. It has an explosive laxative effect on me. I doubt my co-workers would appreciate it if I had this problem at work. hahaha

Leave a Reply

