It Was a Good Day But Could Have Been Better

I had to work all weekend so I didn’t get to get Caleb this weekend and I miss him. That is what could have been better. I miss my grandsons.

I got a lot accomplished over the weekend and I hope to see him next weekend. I have been sticking to my plan of exercising and counting calories and carbs. I love my watch that tells me how many calories I am burning and monitors my heart rate. Today I ate 1327 calories and burned 923 calories by mowing my lawn and running/walking 3.42 miles at the local track.

I chopped carrots, cauliflower and broccoli and put it into a large bowl in my fridge to use during the week in my lunch and possibly stir fry’s. I got several banana peppers from my little garden and I am going to put them into a new recipe for dinner tomorrow.

I spent a couple of hours yesterday moving things around in the home and trying to make it “mine” and not “ours”.  My friends that have gone through a divorce have told me that this is an important step for me. I was able to put the few small things that he had left here in plastic tubs so he can pick them up.  I am ready to make this a home again and excited about the possibilities. 🙂

What did you do to prepare to eat healthy this week and did you exercise?

 

10 responses to “It Was a Good Day But Could Have Been Better

  1. I rode my bike yesterday and today as well as worked in my flower garden doing some weeding. As far as healthy eating I went to the store on Friday and we now have all kinds of fruits and vegetables in the house. I know that carbs are my downfall and this weekend I have totally avoided them. I feel so much better. I love this challenge as it really has me thinking about healthy choices. Thanks Grace!!!

    • Judy you are doing great. I have been considering get myself a bike too. How far do you ride? Is your bike a mountain bike or a street bike?

      • Grace, I have two bikes, a road bike and a hybrid. The hybrid is good for shorter rides such as a trip to the library. The road bike is for longer rides–that is anything over 10 miles. I try to do 30-40 miles a week during the summer. I live in the Denver area and we have lots of great bike paths!

      • Judy that is wonderful. We don’t have sidewalks here in rural WV but we do have bike trails if you can haul your bike there. Other than that you ride in the street with the cars and drive everyone crazy. haha

  2. I always seem to sabotage myself on the weekends. Then I pay the price. I’m making some sandwich rolls/ buns (Dr A’s revolution roll recipe but using cream cheese) to use this coming week in hopes of getting back on track. I picked up tomatoes, squash, green onions, & cucumbers at the farmer’s market Saturday and that makes me happy. 🙂 Glad to see you’re doing we’ll & staying committed. What an inspiration!

    • Jillian my weekends are the hardest too. I have found that actually writing down what I plan to eat the next day and figuring the carbs and calories beside it helps me to avoid things on the weekends.

  3. Today I made a mojito salad with watermelon and cucumber. I went to a BBQ and needed to bring a side. I usually wake up in the mornings, check my food blogs and find something new to cook. I’m not very good at putting my own recipes together, but I do love inspiration from others. I did zumba on Monday and this week, again it will probably just be zumba on Monday unless I get a chance for a walk.

    • Bridget I have never heard of a mojito salad but that does sound interesting. I love my Zumba classes. 🙂 You are doing a great job.

  4. Today I did water aerobics, water Zumba and yoga. I feel so great and have so much more energy when I exercise regularly.

    Today was my official 2 week weigh in with the doctor and I am down 4.2 pounds and gained 3.7 pounds of lean body mass. The resistance training sure works good for me. He was very pleased.

    I keep a food diary on MyFitnessPal and enter my meals for the next day the night before. It helps to keep me on track.

    I use a BodyMedia to capture all my movements and it has a watch strap for the readout so I can see what I’m doing during the day. It certainly motivates me to move more and do better.

    • Very good Susan. Do you wear the bodymedia all day to see how many calories you burn all day or just during workouts? I have only had my calorie burning counter/watch for a week but I use it for workouts only right now. I am just curious. Way to go on figuring out your meals the night before.

Leave a Reply

