Swiss Sausage with Peppers

I couldn’t be creative with the name of this new recipe. I apologize in advance for this but the horrible doesn’t take away from the fact that it tasted really great. I had it for dinner last night and for breakfast this morning. I have enough for two more meals. I cut the swiss cheese into big chunks and you can see the big globs  in the picture. Just describing this now makes me want to go get more. I am seriously fighting off wanting to run to the kitchen and eating something tonight so perhaps typing this isn’t the best thing to do at this exact moment. haha

If you are using Map My Fitness to document your food intake I have added this recipe for your convenience. Swiss Sausage with Peppers

The banana peppers were from my garden and I used my Ninja to chop them into very tiny pieces. I think I will be chopping all of peppers this way and freezing them to use in recipes the rest of the year. I hope I get hundreds of banana peppers this season. 🙂

Swiss Sausage with Peppers

  • 2 pounds sausage (in a roll-breakfast type)
  • 5 banana peppers- minced
  • 1 medium sweet onion- minced
  • 1 8-ounce can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 8 ounces swiss cheese cut into small chunks

In a large saute pan add sausage, peppers and onions and cook over medium heat until sausage is cooked well and onions are translucent. Drain grease from pan and add tomato sauce and basil. Stir until well blended and add swiss cheese and stir until cheese melts. Serves 8.

Nutritional information- Calories 225.3, Fat- 16.1, Carbs- 6.2 (fiber- 1.7, sugars- 1.9), Protein- 14.2

Net carbs- 4.5

 

 

Leave a Reply

