Chili Relleno Bake

I had gotten several banana peppers out of my garden today so I looked for a way to use them and I came up with this recipe. I hope you like it too. I used fresh eggs from my son’s hens that were free range and free of being fed any GMO grain/corn. I also used fresh meat from a local farm that does not feed GMO grain to their animals. I substituted almond milk for the milk and trust me that you will not taste the difference. This recipe is very light and healthy.

I have added it to Map My Fitness for those tracking their calorie and carb intake there.

Map My Fitness Information for Recipe

Chili Relleno Bake

  • 1 pound ground beef, lean
  • 1/2 cup onion, finely minced
  • 4-5 banana peppers, finely minced
  • 1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1 1/2 cups Almond Milk- original flavor, unsweetened
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin, ground
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon hot sauce

In saute pan cook ground beef and onion until meat is no longer pink and onion is soft. Drain grease.

In the bottom of a 9×13 pan place half the banana peppers in bottom of greased pan. Top with half of the cheddar cheese and then all of the meat/onion mixture. Next top with the remaining banana peppers and cheese. Mix remaining ingredients well and pour over layered items.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 50 minutes. Serves 6.

Nutritional Information: Calories: 399, Fat- 30.5, Sodium- 546.5, Carbs- 3.4 (fiber 1.3, sugars- 0.7), Protein- 26.6

Net carbs- 2.1

Leave a Reply

