Types of Workouts

I got to thinking about different ways to exercise today while I was cleaning my dining room. This was brought on by thinking about something an elderly client said to me once a long time ago. She said, “Women today wouldn’t need to do workouts if they just cleaned their homes the way that they should. That is work enough.”  While deep cleaning your home is definitely work it isn’t too hard to keep it that way if you are working long hours and never home to mess it up. Thus a workout is needed to maintain cardio and tone.

Lets discuss the different types of workouts and what each one does for you.

Zumba- This is a very fun workout. You get to be in a room full of laughing sweating women and you don’t have to worry about looking cute because you are all a mess. haha This is a seriously high cardio workout. As you know I wear a watch that monitors my heart rate and at times my heart rate has exceeded 145 in Zumba.  You will burn many calories during Zumba and I have noticed an improvement in my lung expansion from doing this workout. If you try one zumba class and it isn’t for you don’t give up. Just look for another one that better fits your personality and your needs. I have a friend that attends a class near her home and they incorporate using hand weights during their zumba class to provide extra toning.

DVD Toning- I have been using Jillian Michael’s Shred DVD and I love it. Every muscle in my body is sore but I can tell that I am getting stronger. Even my armpits are sore from doing this workout. It is not for the faint of heart but if you continue to do it the difficult parts will be easier. I was in a stall with my weight loss for several months and within 2 days of doing this and jogging afterward I am down 3 pounds and I can see a difference in my abs.

I won’t say that this video is for everyone because I can see where people who have problems with their knees would be unable to do most of this video but for those of us without knee issues it provides cardio and toning at the same time. Jillian explains during level 1 that if you stick with you will do better and I believe her.

Jogging- I love to jog. I didn’t expect to love it as much as I do but I do. I prefer to run in the evenings when the sun has gone down but it is not dark. There tends to be a nice breeze at that time and the humidity is down as well. Some people prefer to jog on the street but I prefer to jog on a track. You can easily measure your progress and distance and you don’t have to worry about getting hit by a car. You also won’t have as many interruptions while stopping for traffic.

You will tend to meet the same people at the track and will make new friends with people who offer advice along the way to improve your running skills. This is excellent cardio but you will also see toning especially in your hips, legs, buttock and abs.

Cardio workouts can include jogging, walking, zumba, aerobics, treadmills, boot camp workouts, swimming, rollerskating and anything that can get your heart rate up. This burns calories and helps you to tone at the same time.

Flexibility workouts help you be injury free and relaxed. For those that think yoga is boring and doesn’t provide a workout it is obvious that they have never tried it. Yoga can provide flexibility and core strength while helping you to release stress in both mind and body. I tried yoga and was amazed how sore I became. This showed me that it definitely helps in building core strength.

Toning workouts can utilize weights such as kettebells, hand weights, machines or just using your own body through exercises such as push ups or pelvic lifts. I am now a firm believer that when I combine toning workouts with hand weights and cardio workouts such as running or Zumba that I will see a difference in my body and my weight loss.

Which type of workout is best for you?

6 responses to “Types of Workouts

  1. This is the area I struggle in. I have bone on bone in both knees with arthritis above each. I hope to find some good chair exercise videos.

  2. Thanks so much, I think I can do this. I have quite a bit to lose and I knew I needed to get some cardiovascular workout in to help.

    • I googled workouts for people with knee injuries and several came up on youtube as well. I have to admit that I didn’t look to closely at them but there were quite a lot to choose from. I remember watching Biggest Loser one season and one of the men had injured his knee. He sat on the end of his bed and did punching movements in the air to get a cardio workout. He still lose big numbers on the scale that week. Good luck. 🙂

  3. Cardio is excellent and should be done every day but don’t forget the all important strength training. That is what tones your muscles, builds new muscle and keeps your lean body mass while losing weight.

    I’m 71 and on M-W-F I do an hour each of water aerobics, water zumba, tai chi, and yoga. On T-TH-Sat I do 45-60 minutes of strength training. Unlike a lot of my friends, I am fit and strong and have things to talk about besides my aches and pains and what I can’t do.

    Water exercise is good for people with arthritis, too. I know the Y I go to has a special water aerobics class for arthritis, they have chair yoga and silver sneaks which is also done sitting down.

    • Susan I am sorry for taking so long to respond. I had a busy wonderful weekend and was away from the computer. I am so proud of you for not letting a little thing like age get in your way. I love your attitude and spunk. You are so correct. Staying active does help with flexibility, pain endurance and remaining independent. Bravo to you!!

Leave a Reply

