What A Difference!

Yesterday my family came to help me organize, clean and move furniture. It took all day and I am very grateful for their help. It lets me know that even though I am now single, I am not alone. While my sister and I were going through my craft items I dug out my old photo albums and found this old picture of me from before I lost the weight. Samantha was in college and I had gone down to visit her for a weekend.

Some people ask me why I am so adamant that you have to eat healthy and exercise and this picture explains why I feel so strongly. I feel as if I were a different person back then. I was sad, depressed and woke up each morning in pain because my hips hurt from being so overweight. I felt hopeless at times and didn’t want to leave my home for days at a time.

This is my picture now.

I have been honest about needing to lose 10 pounds that I have gained since my new job/recent separation from my husband and that I am jogging and exercising daily. The reason that I am so determined to lose this weight is that I never want to become the sad, depressed woman that I used to be. I am going to be brutally honest here. When I was that overweight I used to count the days until my children would be adults and wouldn’t need me anymore so that I could just die. I have not felt that way in many years. Despite the trials, heartaches and sudden changes in my life I awake each day excited about what opportunities I may face that day. This is why I do it. I think I should put that first picture in my house to see daily to remind myself exactly how miserable I was at that time. I do not ever want to be there again.

I am telling you this to let you know that if you are in that position right now you will understand that your life doesn’t have to remain that way. You don’t have to awaken each day in pain and out of breath just walking across the living room. You can regain your health and your life. The world is a beautiful place and has a lot to offer you. Just take the first step and change your eating habits and begin to exercise.

I am here for you.

7 responses to “What A Difference!

  1. You should put that pic in the kitchen or near the area where you eat…

  2. Grace: You are such a source of inspiration! What is really awesome is how you have you have not let the difficult times get you down. You have risen above them and continue to improve yourself. Now if I could just put you in my pocket to cheer me on when the going gets tough!!

    • Thank you Judy. I can’t say that I never get down but I always fight my way back before I get to that bad place where I used to stay so much. Life is wonderful and exciting now. 🙂

  3. Wow! Even when you were heavy you were pretty! Haha! Some girls have all the luck!

  4. Heather Deaton

    Wow you look fabulous. Your story could inspire so many, and you did it all on your own. Thanks so much for your insight and transparency about your life. Blessings on your new journey!

Leave a Reply

