Chicken Squash Stirfry

I made this today using a lot of fresh vegetables that I had on hand. I am trying to eat more fresh items and non-processed foods. I want to only put natural things in my body as much as possible. I can’t say that I fell in love with this recipe but it was good. I will have it again and won’t have difficulty eating the leftovers throughout the week. 

I seldom ever add salt to a recipe and while I sit at the table watching others adding salt to their foods it is never a thought for me. That said, this recipe wasn’t one of them that I didn’t notice a need for salt. Up until a few minutes ago I couldn’t figure out why and now I realize it was all of the fresh tomatoes that I added. I do love salt on my tomatoes. So I am going to suggest adding salt to taste. 

I have added this recipe to Map My Fitness for those using that to count their food intake each day. 

Map My Fitness- Chicken Squash Stir-fry

Chicken Squash Stir-fry

  • 2.5 pounds of chicken tenders, cut into bite size pieces
  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 large onion, minced
  • 2 yellow squash, sliced
  • 3 small zucchini, sliced
  • 3 medium tomatoes, pureed
  • Essence of Emeril, to taste <– click there for recipe
  • salt to taste

Using a non-stick pan add 2 Tablespoon olive oil and heat well. Add chicken and stir until cooked thoroughly. Remove chicken from pan and discard liquid in pan. Add remaining Tablespoon olive oil and heat. Add onion and stir until translucent and tender. Add squash and zucchini to pan and cook until both are tender. Add chicken to pan and add tomatoes. Add Essence of Emeril and salt and stir well. Allow to cook down a bit until flavors are well blended. This would also be good with a bit of Parmesan Cheese on top but I have not added that into the nutritional information. Serves 8. 

Nutritional Information- Calories- 283.4, Fat 7.1, Carbohydrates- 11.9 (fiber- 3.5, sugars- 3.5, Protein- 44.0

Net carbs- 8.4

 

Leave a Reply

