Strawberry French Toast

I know for many people they will not consider this to be low carb but it is for me. My sister, mother and I went in together and bought dehydrated strawberries from Honeyville.com a couple of weeks ago. These are wonderful little treats that can easily be rehydrated and enjoyed in recipes. I made a strawberry sauce to go over french toast and it was very light and low carb. I hope that you enjoy it. 

The bread that I use is low carb. In our area we are blessed enough to have both Heiner’s 35 wheat bread and Kroger’s low carb yogurt. I am so grateful to have both of these items handy at all times. There is a Sara Lee bread that I like to use that is available in VA when I am visiting my daughter. 

I really enjoyed this strawberry sauce and I can see where it would be very good over low carb ice cream. 🙂

The strawberry sauce is enough for 4 servings with each person getting 2 slices of Heiner’s 35 wheat bread made into french toast. I will be providing both recipes here. 

Strawberry Sauce

  • 1/2 cup dehydrated strawberries or 1/2 cup fresh strawberries, sliced
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup Splenda

If you are using the dehydrated strawberries place them in the water in the saucepan for about 20 minutes prior to cooking. Add Splenda and bring to a boil stirring often. Remove from heat and allow it to cool slightly. Place into your blender or Ninja and pulse until well mixed. Sit aside. Makes 4 servings.

Nutritional Information: Calories- 31, Fat- 0, Carbs- 7.0 (fiber .2, sugars- .5), Protein- 0.5

Net carbs 6.8

French Toast

  • 2 slices Heiner’s 35 wheat bread or similar low carb bread
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 Tablespoon Splenda
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla
  • 1 Tablespoon Silk Unsweetened Almond Milk (1 carb per cup)
  • 1/4 of Strawberry Sauce mixture

Mix egg, cinnamon, Splenda, Almond milk and vanilla in a shallow bowl. Spray a non-stick griddle pan and place over medium/hi heat. Allow to pan to heat. Dip bread into mixture and coat both sides. Place on griddle and cook both sides. Remove to plate and top with Strawberry sauce. Serves 1. 

Nutritional information: Calories- 56.1, Fat- 2.2, Carbs- 15.1 (fiber- 2.2, sugars- 0.7), Protein- 3.6

Net carbs- 12.9

Leave a Reply

