Spaghetti Squash

I had the pleasure of meeting a woman named Geneva today. Sometimes you meet someone and just feel a connection with and she is one of those people. I was sharing with her my weight loss and started telling her about Spaghetti Squash. I promised to put the information about spaghetti squash on the blog tonight just for her. This is what spaghetti squash looks like.

It kind of resembles a large melon but it is even better for you than a melon. When you cook it and scrape out the center it resembles spaghetti and you can make any recipe that usually calls for spaghetti with it.

Now to provide the information on how to cook spaghetti squash. When I was first looking for how to cook spaghetti squash I found three main ways to cook it. I have tried all 3 and I prefer the boil method with baking coming a close second. I do not like it microwaved as many people do.

To boil the spaghetti squash you need to cut the spaghetti squash in half longways and scoop out the seeds that are in the center. It will resemble a pumpkin sort of. Bring a large pot of water to a boil and place the squash in the water. I like to add a small amount of salt to the water just as I did with regular pasta. I use a fork to test every 5 minutes to see when the “meat” of the squash is cooked and soft.

When it is soft you simply remove the squash from the water and drain the water from it. Place the squash in a 9 X 13 pan and using a fork scrape the squash out of the center. You will see that it resembles spaghetti.

For the baking method of preparing the squash you use a 9 X 13 pan and put about 1 inch of water in the bottom of the pan. Cut the squash in half lengthways and scoop out the center. Place cut side down in the pan and bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes and check for tenderness every 5 minutes. When the squash is ready remove from the pan and drain the water. Using a fork scrape out the center.

Now you have spaghetti squash to use in whatever recipe you would have usually used pasta in. Here are a few that I love to make.

Chili Squash

Spaghetti Sauce and Spaghetti Squash Bake

Ham and Spaghetti Squash AuGratin

 

Spaghetti Squash with Marinara Sauce

I hope this inspires at least one of you to try spaghetti squash.

 

 

Leave a Reply

