July Challenge Update

At the beginning of July I started a challenge on here and on my Facebook page for people willing to make the change and include exercise into their lives along with proper eating. I had been struggling to lose the weight that I had gained during the job change and the upcoming divorce. Even though I was doing Zumba several times a week and jogging I just wasn’t losing weight. I used Map My Fitness to monitor my calorie intake and even spoke with a fitness trainer to see what the problem was.

My Zumba instructor told me that while Zumba is nice if I wanted to see a change it would take more time on the track running. I took her suggestion to heart and dedicated more time to the track and I am very glad that I did. After a month of doing the Jillian Michael’s Shred DVD and jogging at least 6 days a week I am down 10 pounds. Whoohoo.

I still need to lose about 5 pounds as I still can not get into the jeans that I did last summer. I am close but not quite there. I have no doubt that I will get there but it will take more work. I am willing to put the forth the effort and make this dedication to my health because I am worth it. I am worth being healthy and reaching my goal weight and size that I know that I should be.

I experienced many emotions this month and have been a bit surprised by some of the reactions of others in my life. When I decided to take the month off from Zumba I was met with mixed reactions by some of my fellow Zumba members. I was ostracized by some and treated as if I had committed the ultimate sin for taking the time to do what I needed to do to reach my healthy goal. Lets just say that I realized who my friends were and who actually never were. Some were very supportive and encouraged me to do what I needed to do and that they would be there for me in August. For them I am grateful. 🙂

I enjoy jogging and I hope to be able to do it for many years. Each person is different and what works for one person might not work for another. For me I needed a more extreme form of exercising to see a difference on the scale.  If anyone reading this blog has experienced being alienated by others because you are making the change to become healthier I am here for you. I will never judge your choices. Only you know what is right for you.  Please feel free to share your achievements here.

How did you do with your challenge for July?

Would you like to continue the challenge for August? I still have a bit to go and I appreciate your support along the way.

2 responses to “July Challenge Update

  1. Grace, sorry I was so lax in commenting during July. I lost a total of 5.5 pounds and I am happy with that. I had to change some exercise. I was doing water aerobics followed by water zumba 3 days a week, and I dropped the water zumba in favor of a Power Lifting Class. A lot more calories burned and my body in toning up better. I received some comments that bordered on nasty from supposed friends who thought I was crazy and shouldn’t be doing power lifting at my age (71). I guess they think I should sit around and moan and goan about my aches and pain all day as they do while stuffing myself with desserts. I am proud of myself and will continue with this. I also do strength training twice a week, yoga and pilates so I think I have a well rounded exercise program. Do what you need to so you reach your goals and ignore the naysayers.

    I’d love to continue the Challenge in October. I’d like to lose about 15 more pounds.

    Susan

    • Susan I love that you are 71 and fighting to stay active and healthy. Congrats on the weight loss and toning. This makes me so happy. I am glad to have another exercise buddy for this month too. I went to the track and ran the last two nights. I probably won’t run tomorrow because I think my grandson is spending the night. 🙂

      You remind me of this woman that I know that at the age of 67 decided to take up kick boxing. She was fierce!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

