Blackberry-Strawberry Chocolate Chip Cobbler

When I was visiting a client this past week she took me out to her garden and helped me pick fresh blackberries from her vines. These blackberries were huge and very naturally sweet. I knew that I would be putting them into a cobbler. This was very good. I had to be careful to limit myself to a serving.

Instead of using chocolate chips I used Unsweetened Carob Drops but you could use unsweetened chocolate chips if you choose. I just think the Carob Drops are healthier and lower in carbs. If you are using Map My Fitness to monitor your food intake I have added this recipe to their site.

Blackberry-Strawberry Chocolate Chip Cobbler- Map My Fitness

Blackberry-Strawberry Chocolate Chip Cobbler

  • 9 ounces of fresh blackberries (frozen would work too but would not taste as fresh)
  • 3-4 ounces fresh strawberries sliced
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened carob drops or unsweetened chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup Splenda, divided
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • additional splenda to sprinkle on top

In a bowl mix berries with 1/4 cup Splenda and put in the bottom of a 2 quart casserole dish. Sprinkle carob drops on top of berries.

In a mixing bow, cream the butter, 1/4 cup splenda, and vanilla. Combine the almond flour, coconut flour and salt. Add to creamed mixture.

Using your hands break off bits of the dough and place over top of berries. Add pecans to top and bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle with additional Splenda. Serve warm or cold. Add heavy whipping cream if desired. Serves 6.

Nutritional Information per serving: Calories- 254, Fat- 24.2, Carbs- 9.5 (fiber- 4.3, sugars- 4.7), Protein- 2.8

Net Carbs- 5.2

Leave a Reply

