Daisy’s Behavior

Daisy is my sweet Basset Hound/Beagle mix that was in love with Buford. When they met they bonded immediately and neither of them ever let Max into their little click. When Buford died back in February Daisy began crying and howl each night whenever I would go to bed. Last night was the worst ever.

Caleb spent the night with me and when we went to bed she barked/howled/cried for over 30 minutes. Usually it only lasts about 5 minutes. I had spoken to my daughter the other day about Daisy’s behavior and she suggested giving Daisy some extra attention and exercise. So tonight Caleb and I took her to the park and walked her over 2 miles. We kept her there for almost 90 minutes. We let her play in the enclosed dog park area. She sniffed everything and Caleb got her to run through tunnels and tires. She seems very tired now. I hope it helps her to sleep better at night. I am willing to take her with me running if it helps her to stop mourning the loss of Buford.

I have to admit that it probably isn’t entirely losing Buford although he was her first true love. Buford just happened to die 4 hours after Mike and I decided to divorce and he moved out so she lost 2 of her loves in the same day. Please pray that we can find a way to help her move on and ease her pain. Caleb says he is prepared to take her to the park as often as necessary too. 🙂

8 responses to “Daisy’s Behavior

  1. So Sorry for Daisy . I have two dogs that have had similar issues, both have had wonderful results with Thunder shirts. They calm them immediately without any anti anxiety medication. Animals can be sad for many months new routines and friendships with other dogs is good also.
    I’ll pray that Daisy is on the way to becoming her old self again.

    • Thank you for the prayers. It didn’t work but she only cried for about 2 minutes last night instead of 30. I think for her it has become a habit and I need to change her habits now. I doubt that she would keep a thunder shirt on. I have tried harnesses on her before for walking and she chews them off. She also chews off leather or cloth collars. Choker collars are the only things that she can’t get off. She is a little Houdini!! 🙂

  2. Hi, I just discovered your blog through a link on Pinterest. Your story is very inspiring. I am trying to lose weight doing low carb and am having good success. It isn’t easy, but I am learning to have fun with it. I have loved reading about your recipes and how you still seem to enjoy food and life despite your dietary restrictions. I also went through a divorce a few years ago. I just wanted to take a few minutes to tell you how much I am enjoying your blog. Hope you had a good weekend.

    • Thank you Melissa and welcome to the blog. Feel free to jump in and participate. This is a great group of people. Have you joined us over on Facebook yet? I am looking forward to getting to know you.

  3. I just joined your Facebook group today. Looking forward to getting to know everyone!

    • I am glad that you found us over there. You will enjoy getting to know the other ladies. They are very supportive. 🙂

  4. I am reading through my email after having 3 of my grands for 2 weeks, so you may have solved your dog-mourning problem. If not, I am going to suggest something that may sound totally crazy, but it has worked for friends facing dealing with pets after the loss of family members, so it might work with the loss of other pets. Sit down with your dog and explain to her what happened to her friend and that he won’t be coming back. She may not understand where he went. I do think our pets understand more than we think, so I hope it will work for your situation. God speed on the effort!

    • I am sorry for taking so long to respond. I have been out of town visiting my daughter. I will give this a try later today and let you know how it works. I am willing to try anything at this point.

Leave a Reply

