Coconut Pineapple Cream Cheese Balls

I had been seeing a recipe floating around on Facebook for a few weeks and I kept thinking that it could easily be converted to low carb. I was right. I made these today and they are very good. They are quick and easy to make as well. Not bad for only 2.3 net carbs per cheese ball. These are more like a soft cookie.

For those who have never used unsweetened coconut before I want to warn you that it will be hard unless you reconstitute it. It is very simple to do and I will give full directions below. This will be a very soft cookie of sorts.

This does call for pineapple and the original recipe called for an 8 ounce can of crushed pineapple. Canned pineapple spikes my glucose but fresh does not so I changed this recipe to fresh pineapple and I used my ninja to puree it.

Coconut Pineapple Cream Cheese Balls

  • 8 ounces full fat Philadelphia Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1 cup pureed fresh pineapple, drained
  • 1/2 cup Splenda
  • 1 cup pecans, chopped
  • 5 cups unsweetened coconut
  • 3 Tablespoons water
  • Additional 4 Tablespoons Splenda

Mix the cream cheese, pineapple and 1/2 cup Splenda together. Mix in pecans and return to refrigerator to chill for one hour. This will only become slightly firmer but it will be firm enough to make into balls later.

Place coconut in a large bowl with the water and 4 Tablespoons Splenda. Top bowl with plastic wrap and make a small opening in center of wrap. Microwave for 1 minute and remove from microwave. Fluff with fork and allow to cool.

Remove cream cheese mixture from refrigerator and using a scoop drop into bowl with coconut and coat well on all sides. Place balls in a shallow baking dish. Cover and refrigerate for 4 hours to become firm.  Serves 36.

Nutritional Information: Calories- 96.6, Fat 9.3, Carbs- 3.8 (fiber 1.5, Sugars- 1.7), Protein- 1.3.

Net Carb is 2.3 per ball.

4 responses to “Coconut Pineapple Cream Cheese Balls

  1. Oooo if there’s one area I lack in with cooking, it’s finger foods and appetizers. might have to give this one a try 🙂

    • This one is so good I am having difficulty limiting myself. I may have to take some to people. I hope that you enjoy this one. Welcome to the blog!!

  2. Can you use something other than splenda? I cannot use it because of health reasons.

Leave a Reply

