Instant Cinnamon “Oatmeal”

Before I was diagnosed with Diabetes I had Quaker Raisin Date and Walnut Oatmeal every single morning for breakfast. It was my morning routine. I would take it to work with me and prepare it in the microwave and enjoy it while I printed out my work list for the day.  I really missed having oatmeal over the last 5 years but today I found a replacement.

I went into this with my eyes wide open. I had been seeing a recipe on Pinterest for a healthy version of “oatmeal” and I wanted to try it but it had ingredients in it that I was prepared to put my nose into the air and say, “Nope! Not gonna happen.” Today I bit the bullet and bought what I needed at the store and the entire time I was making it I kept hearing what my grandson said to me last weekend.

We had bought chicken salads at a restaurant and he asked me what the red stuff was on my salad. I informed him that it was buffalo wing sauce and that the salad probably would have been better without it. He thought for a second and said, “At least you tried it Mawmaw. I am proud of you.” Well how was I supposed to take the compliment and then whimp out on the healthy version of “oatmeal”?

So I mixed up the “oatmeal” and stood in the kitchen for several minutes before getting up the courage to taste it. Guess what? It is wonderful! I can easily see me mixing up a huge amount of this and making my own instant “Oatmeal” for work each day. Whoohoo!! I am one happy insurance agent/social worker.

The original recipe can be found here- Original recipe

Of course I had to make a couple of changes to it. The recipe called for a making a large amount of it and then using some of it each day. The ingredients were quite expensive so I didn’t want to waste it on making this and then not liking it so this is what I did.

Instant Cinnamon “Oatmeal”

  • 2 Tablespoons Chia Seeds (4 carbs and 4 fiber so this comes to 0 net carbs)
  • 2 Tablespoons Flax Seed Meal (2 carbs and 2 fiber so this comes to 0 net carbs)
  • 2 Tablespoons unsweetened flaked coconut (4 carbs and 3 fiber this so comes to 1 net carb)
  • 1/4 cup dried strawberries (you can use fresh but add at the end if you do. 4 carbs and 1 fiber so this comes to 3 net carbs according to my package of strawberries.)
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • Splenda and cinnamon to taste

Place chia seeds, flax seed meal, coconut and dried strawberries in the bottom of a bowl. Add 1 cup hot water or more if needed. Allow to sit for 3 minutes and stir well. Add Splenda and cinnamon to taste and almond milk. I figured that this comes to 4 net carbs for the entire bowl.

Mom you need to try this. If you do Caleb will be proud of you!! haha

3 responses to “Instant Cinnamon “Oatmeal”

  1. I do make the big batch as in the original but I add finely ground pecans (meal) and I’ve also added Almond meal if I’m out of Pecans. I do the same measurement for the meal-½ cup + 2 Tbsp. I keep a jar in the refrigerator.
    I like your addition of the dried strawberries so I’m going to add those…maybe a cup+…to the big batch. Thanks for the tip. 🙂

    • Hello Granny. Now that I know that I love this I plan to keep a big batch in the fridge at all times. 🙂 I like the idea of the pecans too.

  2. Dried strawberries were 7.99 for a small package. (Too much) I chose dried apples instead.

Leave a Reply

