Marinara Sauce Over Roasted Spaghetti Squash and Roasted Zucchini

I love going to Ruby Tuesdays and eating their version of Marinara Sauce Over Roasted Spaghetti Squash and Roasted Zucchini. Last weekend we went to Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods and I found organic marinara sauce that is only 6 net carbs per serving. I really stocked up on this and hopefully will be able to create different meals using this. I decided a couple of weeks ago that I was going to do at least 2 dinners per week that did not include meat. When I found the marinara sauce I knew that trying to recreate the Ruby Tuesday’s meal was definitely on my to do list.

Doesn’t that look fabulous? It was! I had this for dinner tonight!

This is the marinara sauce from Trader Joe’s.

First I cut a spaghetti squash in half and scooped out the seeds. I lightly brushed the center with olive oil that I bought at Trader Joe’s. If you are purchasing olive oil you need to get it that has been cold pressed and is Extra Virgin Olive Oil and comes in a dark bottle. This is the best olive oil for cooking. I placed the spaghetti squash in a 9×13 pan cut side up and roasted it at 375 degrees for approximately 30 minutes. The cooking time will vary based on the size of your spaghetti squash. When you can poke it with a fork and it is tender it will be done.

Next I sliced zucchini without removing the skins and I placed them on a cookie sheet and lightly brushed them with olive oil. I baked these at the same time that I roasted the spaghetti squash.

I scraped out the spaghetti squash and placed it in the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish. I added 3 Tablespoons of Olive Oil, 1 Teaspoon garlic and 1 teaspoon dried crushed peppers and tossed well to blend flavors. Place zucchini on top of spaghetti squash.

Top with heated marinara sauce and Parmesan Cheese. Enjoy!!

Marinara Sauce Over Roasted Spaghetti Squash and Roasted Zucchini

  • 1 medium spaghetti squash, roasted as described above
  • 1 medium zucchini, sliced and roasted as described above
  • 3 Tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 teaspoon garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1 jar marinara sauce (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 cup Parmesan Cheese, grated

Mix spaghetti squash, olive oil, garlic, and crushed red pepper and place in bottom of 9×13 pan. Top with zucchini and then marinara sauce and Parmesan Cheese. Serves 6.

Nutritional Information: Calories- 168.40, Fat- 6.4, Carbs- 20.5 (fiber- 4.7, sugars- 6.6), Protein- 9.4

Net carbs- 16.3

 

Leave a Reply

