The Dresser

For those of you who follow me over on Facebook you know that I bought a dresser off of Facebook Yardsale in my area and I plan on redoing it. I am very excited about this and have an idea of what this will look like when I am finished. Now Marcia (follower of the blog) doesn’t want me to paint it but there is no way that it can be saved with all of the deep scratches. I think despite the fact that I plan to paint it she might like the final result. At least I hope that she does! 🙂

This is what the dresser looks like from a distance.

The first thing that needs to go are the handles. I have found the handles that I want online but when I went to my Lowes store they didn’t have them. They called around and none of the other Lowes stores have them either. Aren’t these pretty?

I will continue to search for them. I REALLY want these handles.

I started sanding the dresser this morning and took some pictures of the scratches and damages up close to share with you (MARCIA- hahaha).

This is the front of one of the drawers. It is very deep. I have already sanded and filled it with wood filler.

Apparently the child who used to own this dresser really liked their Mom!! The picture below is the front of a drawer. Mom was also scratched into the side. I have filled it all with wood filler.

This is the top of the dresser at the front. I sanded it well and also filled it wood filler some. I won’t be able to completely erase the damage but I think it will be just enough character to endear me to this piece of furniture.

This dresser is going to work perfectly in my guest room. I still haven’t decided what it will hold for me but I am sure it will become one of my favorite pieces. I am guessing this will take a few weeks for me to finish it between work and playing with Caleb on the weekends. This project is exactly what I needed.

So Marcia? What do you think?

 

 

4 responses to “The Dresser

  1. I like it! I think you’re doing a great job! We bought a brand new, unfinished dresser from Ikea, put on new handles and painted it to match my daughter’s room. That was six years ago, and I still love it!

  2. I used to think it was a sin to paint wood furniture. I don’t know where that idea came from, but a lot of people still feel that way. I think your dresser is going to look mahvelous dahling!

Leave a Reply

