Coconut-Milk Breakfast Custard

I made this on Saturday and I did like it. I have to admit that I like the Creme Brulee recipe better but this one is lower in calories, carbs and fat so I am keeping this recipe in my arsenal and finding ways to make it more of what I would want in a custard.

I found the original recipe on the Diabetic Life blog. I do enjoy this blog and have found several recipes there that I plan to try. I highly recommend you spending some time looking around on her blog to what she has to offer.

I did make a few changes to it. I also prefer it cold to warm as her blog recommends. This is what the custard looks like when I first pulled it from the oven.

I added nutmeg to the top as I do to the creme brulee recipe. I plan to add pecans that have been sauteed in butter and Splenda to the top as well for tomorrow. On Saturday I added organic raspberry preserves that I had bought at Trader Joes when I went to visit Samantha in August.

I really enjoyed this but I still think I want pecans on it. I just can’t get that out of my head. On her blog she provides a recipe to adding mashed banana to this as well. I think I will try that next time and still top it with Pecans. To check it out on her blog you can find her recipe here. The Diabetic Life.

I am not going to type out the recipe as the only change that I made to it was adding nutmeg to the top prior to baking. I hope that you enjoy this as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

