My Weekend With Caleb

Caleb arrived on Friday and my home has been filled with a giggling child from the moment he arrived. That child is just pure sweetness and he makes my heart smile! Last night he made reindeer cookies with my sister and brother-in-law. Then he snuggled on the couch with me to watch Curious George’s Merry Christmas. After about 20 minutes he leaned on me and said, “Hold me!” I knew that he meant that he was fading fast. I took him to the bed and when I came in 5 minutes later to tuck him in he was already asleep.

This morning he got up and has found a new way to get me out of the bed. He bounces out of his bed and turns the light on in my room. He refuses to turn it back off and he pounces on me and pulls the covers off. You can’t be angry with a smiling, giggling sweet boy.

This morning we made Santa’s Chocolate Chip Cookies because he went to Bass Pro Shop where he says he saw the REAL Santa and he was told that Santa only likes Chocolate Chip Cookies and not to waste my time with anything else. haha

Afterwards we played a few games but he surprised by asking if we could organize his books in his room. He pulled them all into the floor and began sorting them by his own method. He was so cute. I realized he has several books that I have never read to him yet. That has to be corrected.

We found a website that offers patterns to make different items using Lego’s. He loved this site.

For dinner he requested Sweet Ginger Chicken Wings and I really enjoyed this. Caleb can eat his weight in these. 🙂

For dinner last night my mother sent us some of her leftovers of Chicken Enchilada Style. Caleb really loved this as much as I did.

So this is my weekend. Tomorrow I have been invited to a neighbor’s Christmas luncheon and then I am meeting a friend later in the day. I am trying to keep busy. I finally have a court date in January for the divorce. I need to spend more time focusing on myself and my health. There is a huge temptation to over indulge in comfort foods and in poor choices for myself. I need more focus and more time in prayer. I have learned to say the Serenity Prayer quite a bit over the last year. It never made sense to me until this year. I am learning to accept the things that I can not change and the wisdom to know the difference. God is GREAT and has never failed me. I am just not sure which direction he is sending me at this time. I need to be still and listen to his quiet voice.

6 responses to “My Weekend With Caleb

  1. I’ve been reading your blog for a while and really enjoy it. I was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes 2 months ago and was doing good, but have let this time of goodies way lay me a bit. I commend you on seeking the Lord during the trials of your divorce and really appreciate how you never “slam” your soon-to-be-ex-husband. I pray that your Christmas is filled with Jesus and our blessing of His redemption.

    • Welcome to the blog and thank you. The holidays have not been easy for me as well but I vow daily to start anew.

      Where my soon to be ex is concerned my children still love him as do the grandchildren. It would cause them pain if I were to publicly slam him. I would never hurt my children. Divorce is a painful situation for everyone. No one escapes the loss and children don’t have a choice in the situation. What kind of a mother/grandmother would I be if I were to hurt them?

  2. I really enjoy your blog. I am going through a divorce as well and your positive attitude has really helped me as well. May God continue to bless you and keep you healthy and happy.

    • Welcome to the blog Donee. I am sorry that you are going through this too. I totally understand the stress level you are experiencing. Thank you for the kind words. 🙂

  3. You are a great mother/grandmother…loving them all enough to not make them choose sides.

Leave a Reply

