Broccoli Ham Soup

We are still not able to use water here in WV and from the report that was given earlier today it will be several more days before that can happen. I looked through my saved recipes in Evernote and decided to make Broccoli Ham Soup partly because it doesn’t contain water and partly because I had been wanting to make it for a few weeks now. It smelled wonderful while it was cooking and I took it to my sister, Donna’s home and shared with them and our parents. The soup was a big success.

Donna, Mom and I stood in her kitchen and tried to think of how we could improve the soup and Donna suggested adding ham and I suggested adding extra cheese. Mom stated that it needed to be REAL ham to be good. Donna and I teased her about how we apparently use FAKE ham!! I am not really sure what constitutes FAKE ham but I know that I never want to eat it. haha

When I came home I immediately began making another batch of the soup and this time I made it with more cheese and ham and it was even better. I think you will like this one.

I found the original recipe here. It is a very good recipe but I just wanted to kick it up a notch. Lost Sentiments- Broccoli Cheese Soup.

Broccoli Ham Soup

  • 16 ounce package frozen broccoli chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 8 ounce package cream cheese, softened
  • 2 cups cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1 1/2 cups ham, chopped small
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, ground

Place broccoli in a microwave bowl and place in microwave. Cook on high for 9 minutes. Add remaining ingredients into bottom of slow cooker.

Once broccoli has cooked, remove from the microwave. Place in food processor (I used my ninja) and process until broccoli is in small pieces. Add to slow cooker and cook on high for 2 hours stirring often.

Serve warm. Makes 4 servings.

2 responses to “Broccoli Ham Soup

  1. my prayers and thoughts are with all affected by this tragedy.you will get through this i know because i am a wva girl.and i know tough times do not last, but tough people do last.so gods speed to all.

Leave a Reply

