Water Issues Day 3

I awoke this morning to the sound of beautiful rain. I listened to the sound for a few minutes and then it dawned on me that I was letting that wonderful free clean water just go into the ground. I was able to get a large cooler that holds 70 cans and in less than 10 minutes it was full getting the water from one of my rain gutter spouts.

My son had brought me a large 6 gallon container of fresh clean water. I am using that to cook with now and will use the rain water for cleaning and bathing. Despite the inability to use the public water system I am clean and fed. My dogs have fresh water as well.

Since I have started heating water in the microwave each morning to bathe and wash my hair I have realized that it really takes much less water to clean myself than I have been using all these years.

This isn’t easy but it is more of an inconvenience. The state of WV, the WV American Water System and local businesses have done an amazing job of providing clean water in hundreds of locations. Friends whose water systems have not been effected by this chemical leak are opening their homes to those of us without water to let us wash our clothes and clean up if needed.

Neighbors are relying on each other to help them to look for each other. We are all in this together. I plan to make a special dinner tonight since I have fresh water provided by God to wash my dishes now!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

