Teriyaki Glazed Duck

I have wanted to try duck for a long time so when Donna saw them at Aldi’s I had to buy one. Even though my coveted Brinkman grill is on its last leg it was able to handle this easily.

Everyone that I spoke to told me that they had tried duck before and it was greasy so I hit the internet to research how to cook my duck to perfection. Several websites suggested using a drip pan and a chicken rack like one would use to make beer chicken so I quickly got my pan out of the storage closet here and put it to use.

There is a taller insert that goes into the center to hold the duck standing up to roast it without it sitting in its own grease.

Duck is very fatty and I read on a website that I should make cuts into the skin of the duck every inch or so in order to allow the fat to melt and run out of the duck while roasting on the grill.  Isn’t this a beautiful duck?

Teriyaki Glazed Duck

ingredients:

  • 5-7 pound duck
  • teriyaki sauce/marinade

Heat grill to 275 degrees. I have a 3 burner grill and I lit all 3 burners until the grill rose to 275 degrees and then I turned off the center burner and just left the outer two burners on medium to maintain the desired temperature. I placed the duck onto the pan and placed it in the center of my grill and lowered the lid. I checked back an hour later and the duck was cooking beautifully. I began basting the duck with the teriyaki sauce about every 5 minutes for the last 30-45 minutes until the duck is a glowing brown and cooked thoroughly.

Be forewarned that there will be very little meat on a duck. I cooked a 5 pound duck and there was only enough meat for 3 people to have a moderate serving. Be sure to have plenty of side dishes available to supplement the meal.

I admit to making a Spicy Apple Chutney to go on top of it too. If you decide to make this you will need to only allow yourself a small amount. I found the recipe in a cookbook that I own and I can’t find it online to share directly with you that way so I will share it here. I made some slight modifications to it to lower the carbs some.

Spicy Apple Chutney

  • 3 medium apples, peeled and chopped
  • 1 cup chopped onion, chopped
  • 1 cup Splenda
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 cup teriyaki sauce
  • 1/4 cup vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh minced gingerroot

Place all ingredients in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for approximately 30 minutes until cooked thoroughly.

Despite the duck not having much meat on it you really do need to make this chutney serve 8 people in order to keep the carbs down to about 10 per person.

I absolutely will be making this recipe often and serving it to guests in my home.

Leave a Reply

