Meatloaf Soup

This week I was at a client’s home and the scent coming from her kitchen was distracting me. It was every bit of heaven and I had to stop discussing insurance to ask her for the recipe. I didn’t get to try it as it wasn’t finished cooking while I was there but I did quickly get all of the  ingredients to make it for myself. This is one of those quick dump into one pot recipes for a quick meal too which is a plus.

I told my sister, Donna about it since David absolutely loves meatloaf she came over to try it too. David loved it as did I and Caleb but Donna didn’t care much for it. So three out four enjoyed the recipe. I hope you do too. By calculations it has come out to 17 carbs minus 5 fiber to make 12 net carbs per serving.

Meatloaf Soup

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 red/purple onion, finely diced
  • 1 can Hunts Meatloaf Tomato Sauce
  • 1 large can tomato juice (I used Kroger brand)
  • 1 bag tri-color coleslaw mix (green cabbage, purple cabbage, carrots)
  • 2 envelopes McCormicks Meatloaf seasoning packets
  • cheddar cheese, shredded

Add onion and ground beef into a large pot and cook over medium high heat until ground beef is browned. Drain grease and add remaining ingredients except cheddar cheese. Cook for 20-25 minutes until cabbage is tender. Spoon into bowls and top with cheddar cheese. Enjoy!

2 responses to “Meatloaf Soup

  1. I am making this tomorrow!!!! I can’t wait to try it!!! I have been eating the cabbage patch soup and LOVE IT!!!! I LUV meatloaf!!

Leave a Reply

