Parmesan Chicken with Parmesan Sauce

This is a very good recipe. Last week when I was on my way to Virginia we stopped at Ruby Tuesdays for lunch and I fell in love with this recipe. Did you know that you can request any of the pasta dishes to be put over spaghetti squash? You have to ask for it but they were very happy to accommodate my request.

I wish that the picture of this was prettier than it is but I used my cell phone to take it. I should have used my camera and I will try to get a better picture soon.

This recipe is parmesan chicken over top of roasted spaghetti squash with a marinara sauce with basil and a rich parmesan sauce over top of it.

I used the recipe for Heroin Wings but I used boneless chicken tenders instead of wings. I baked them at the same time that I baked the Roasted Spaghetti Squash. While they baked I made the Parmesan Cream Sauce and heated a jar of Marinara Sauce with Basil that I bought at Trader Joe’s last week in VA. The marinara sauce was 8 carbs but with 2 carbs of fiber it came to 6 net carbs.

Parmesan Chicken with Parmesan Sauce

Heroin Chicken Tenders- Use recipe for wings but use boneless chicken tenders

  • 3 pounds boneless chicken tenders
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 Cup Parmesan Cheese grated
  • 2 Tablespoons Parsley, dried
  • 1 Tablespoon oregano, dried
  • 2 teaspoons Paprika
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

Make according to the original creators directions (here- Heroin Wings)

Roasted Spaghetti Squash

  • 1 large spaghetti squash, halved and seeds removed
  • olive oil

drizzle olive oil over spaghetti squash and brush well to cover well. Bake at 350 degrees at same time as chicken bakes. When the squash is soft all the way through and the center will easily form into strands when scraped with a fork.

Creamy Parmesan Sauce

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 cups parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic, crushed (optional)

Using fresh grated parmesan cheese instead of the kind bought in a big can with a green lid will make a more creamy sauce. It melts more smoothly and will be less gritty but if I only had the kind in the big can I wouldn’t allow that to stop me from making this recipe. 🙂

Add butter and whipping cream to a small sauce pan and bring to a boil. Allow to boil stirring often for about 5 minutes. Add parmesan cheese and garlic (Optional) and stir until well blended and cheese melts.

Marinara Sauce with Basil came from Trader Joe’s.

To serve to plate add roasted spaghetti squash, top with marinara sauce and then add chicken tenders to center of dish. Add Creamy Parmesan Cheese Sauce to the outside of the recipe. Serves 6-8 depending on your servings.

While we were traveling I had this and 2 hours after eating this my glucose level was only 89. My sister had it on the drive home and hers was also low. Enjoy!

 

 

2 responses to “Parmesan Chicken with Parmesan Sauce

  1. Where did you find a baking dish split into two sections!!?? I have been searching everywhere online and at stores and cant find one. It would come in handy for my picky eater!!!!

    • Hello and welcome to the blog. I bought mine at Home Goods. I love this store. I went back a year later and they had them again and in two different sizes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

